Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

Stuttering Check engine light
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13 Feb 2007, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Unhappy Stuttering Check engine light

Hi,

I have a 97 Impreza and the Check Engine Light came on.
Also stutters when accelerating and has low power.
So far Ive replace the Spark Plugs, Air Filter, Fuel Filter and MAF sensor.
After I replaced the MAF the it seemed to work ok for a half hour then its went back to stuttering again with the Check Engine Light on again.

When replacing the MAF do I have to change any codes?
All I did was replace it. I have little knowledge about codes and what they do.

Any help would be appreciated.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2007, 08:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Forum Sponsor
Paid & Proud
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: north east
Posts: 655
you need to either check the codes yourself or take it somewhere for them to sort................its gonna cost a lot to simply keep bolting parts on hoping you solve the issue............

would also be worth taking the battery off for a few hours to do a simple ECU re-set, to allow the new parts you have fitted to work to their full potential

have a look in the thread at the top of the section for hints/tips on codes and re-setting ECU
__________________
ASPerformance
UK distributors PIAA, EXE-TC, PERFORMANCE FRICTION
online shop!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2007, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
How to check codes and reset

http://www.saxonfields.freeserve.co....iag%20Page.htm
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2007, 09:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
speed demoness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,410
Send a message via MSN to speed demoness
soundtweakers problem sounds familiar to me Alyn...does it you?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2007, 05:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Well I disconnected the battery and pressed the brake pedal for 30 sec. then reconnected
and that reset the codes. No more check engine light and the car works champ.

Thanks Guys.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2007, 07:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
2002pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 14,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundtweaker View Post
Well I disconnected the battery and pressed the brake pedal for 30 sec. then reconnected
and that reset the codes. No more check engine light and the car works champ.

Thanks Guys.
Nice one
__________________
Pete.

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2007, 04:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
speed demoness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,410
Send a message via MSN to speed demoness
glad it's all sorted !!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2007, 01:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Not so fast. The CEL came back on and its stutterting again sometimes.
I tryed to do a Code check but I cant find the right black connectors.
There are 2 loose wires with taped ends with bare connectors on them.
Looks like a mechanic rigged it after he broke the connector.

Heres a pic. See if you can spot the right black connectors to put together.
I see the green ones no prob.

http://www.suboculis.com/wires.jpg
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2007, 02:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Well the CEL light came back on and its stuttering but not as bad.

Went to do a diagnostic check but I couldnt find the right black connectors.

Looks like a mechanic rigged a couple wires. Any ideas?

Heres a pic

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2007, 05:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
no one has a clue?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2007, 10:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I *thought* it was the green connections, but I might be wrong.. It's been awhile since I've done a check myself
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2007, 12:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
According to the ECU reset thread, the black wires need to be connected for a ECU Diag. check.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2007, 08:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
Can someone with a Classic take a picture of their plugs for this guy, as I suspect the female black plug has been cut off (looking at the pic) or taped up......
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2007, 01:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUK300 View Post
Can someone with a Classic take a picture of their plugs for this guy, as I suspect the female black plug has been cut off (looking at the pic) or taped up......

i shall endevour to have a gander tonight
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2007, 03:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUK300 View Post
Can someone with a Classic take a picture of their plugs for this guy, as I suspect the female black plug has been cut off (looking at the pic) or taped up......
That's what I'm suspecting too. Just wondering which is the right male black plug, the smaller 2 pin or the bigger 5 pin connector?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check engine light/ misses above 4000rpm darrellmac311 Technical General 8 04 Aug 2008 03:12 PM
Check Engine Light SilverStreak Technical General 4 12 Nov 2007 06:54 PM
Check Engine light on, help! CSutherland Electrical (Including ICE) 5 16 Aug 2006 06:57 PM
Engine Check Light On mmayim Engine Bay 3 25 Jul 2005 09:15 PM
Intermittant Engine check light!? AberScooby Technical General 7 01 Jul 2005 09:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.