Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

obd port
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31 Jan 2010, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Cool obd port

I am trying to view the information from my obd port on my kenwood 7240bt via its video in leads, so far the only way i can find is via a laptop has anybody got any info on how i might do this
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2010, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: obd port

What software are you using to read the info?
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2010, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Re: obd port

have not got anything at the moment, serching the web i seem spoilt for choice, did not want to buy anything before asking advice here first

ps thanks for quick reply -- i have till feb 12th (birthday) to find somthing
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2010, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: obd port

Just done a google on ur HU and its not capable of running any software that will read ur ecu direct,
You need a laptop with Romraider or similar on and then plug ur HU into the laptop and use the HU as a remote screen of the laptop imo
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2010, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Re: obd port

Thats what i have found -- will leave this open for a few days then probably junk the kenwood and buy an incar PC

unless anyone knows how it can be done without a laptop
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: obd port

Quote:
Originally Posted by martyn7 View Post
unless anyone knows how it can be done without a laptop
Classic or New Age Impreza? as classic imprezas, ecu's can be read manually without need to plug in
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 12:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: obd port

07 plate just found out no joy so needs plugging in
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Re: obd port

without going off topic my son has a classic (sports wagon) how do you read it
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: obd port

what year
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 06:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Re: obd port

2000 on a t reg i believe
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 06:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: obd port

It may be readable yes, Ive hooked up to a sport of that year and was able to read live data and reset the ecu with laptop
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 06:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Re: obd port

cheers for that, but can anyone come up with a solution to my original problem or know of a very small laptop
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 06:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: obd port

I use a toshiba Portege very small and compact
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Feb 2010, 06:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: obd port

http://www.channelinsider.com/images...e-r500-12q.jpg
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Feb 2010, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Re: obd port

does this come with video or s-video outpput
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plumbing on 3 port boost solenoid? meldino Engine Bay 2 14 Sep 2010 12:48 PM
just cleaned 3 port solenoid and 2 port seddomyster Engine Bay 9 27 Apr 2009 07:32 AM
port polishing seddomyster Engine Bay 4 19 Apr 2009 10:33 PM
3 port boost solinoid on a 93 wrx import T21CDR Engine Bay 1 24 Jan 2009 02:42 PM
2 port boost solenoid plumbing roscop Engine Bay 29 20 Jan 2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.