Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

help please poorly scoob :(
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14 Sep 2009, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: eastleigh
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to a511ley
Question help please poorly scoob :(

hiya just joined for some advice if possible,
my friend has a 93/94 k reg impreza WRX and when you accelerate to 70MPH it will start popping and spluttering and seeming to die but then take off like a rocket - last night we went out for a spin down the motorway and it seemed to be getting worse then clearing up! when we where on our way back to my house it was gutless struggling to get past 40-50MPH popping ect again but 10 times as bad as before. it also came up with a light on the dash when doing this saying "At Oil Temp"

he has a few visual mods like
bailey D/V
HKS induction kit
straight through nur spec exhaust with de- cat
and a superchips superchip

he got told it was either the fuel pump and filter, plugs and coil packs, lambda's - does anyone live near the eastleigh area and know anywhere i might be able to take him to get it on a diognosis machine?

take my number if im not online cos i dont have access to the internet often - 07518711874

thanks in advance ash.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Sep 2009, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
nevsscob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: uk essex
Posts: 352
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

has the car had a remap. because im sure someone on here said that the classic has to be remapped when these type of mods are done
__________________
come on the gunners
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Sep 2009, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

dump the super chip to start with.

oil temp issue is a concern though, get it to a specialist to take a look and see whats going on.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Sep 2009, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: eastleigh
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to a511ley
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidgy View Post
dump the super chip to start with.

oil temp issue is a concern though, get it to a specialist to take a look and see whats going on.
is the super chip a bad modification then? As regards to the specialist nowhere around this area will touch it due to it having a different ECU plug (single?) as all modern cars use the 3 plug setup!

nevsscob - im not 100% sure if its had a re-map or not i should imagine so though.
__________________
If In Doubt Flat Out!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Sep 2009, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

very bad lol

how come its got a different plug? sounds like osmeones been messing around and bodging it, that might be your problem.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Sep 2009, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

As the lads said get it to a specialist
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Sep 2009, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: eastleigh
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to a511ley
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidgy View Post
very bad lol

how come its got a different plug? sounds like osmeones been messing around and bodging it, that might be your problem.
its exactly the same shape scooby as yours but apparently it has a single plug ECU setup and wont connect to a diognosis machine because its old - i told him he was chatting abit of bull s**t but he was adiment he was right so... i wasnt arguing. My mate was told last night it could be a vacuum problem (something to do with boost problems) but theres isnt any leaks that i can find Thanks anyway for your help ill get onto him and get him to chuck the chip away!
__________________
If In Doubt Flat Out!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Sep 2009, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,567
Re: help please poorly scoob :(

If its a classic you should have some connectors under the steering wheel to read the faults, if any in the history
Manually Reading ECU Codes (Classic Impreza’s only)

On Classic shape Impreza’s only (not Newage) faults can be displayed as pulses of the Check Engine Light. If the Check Engine Light goes out there is no fault.

In order to perform diagnostic (and ECU resets) you will need to connect some wires together under your steering column. Note, the following procedure only works for Classic shape Impreza’s, not for Newage.

* Make sure your ignition is OFF
* Connect the Black ‘Read Memory’ connectors together as illustrated below.


Figure 1 - Black and Green Connectors on Classic Impreza

When the above are connected you are in diagnostics mode. Turn your ignition ON and ‘read’ the ECU code(s) being reported according to the following instructions. Note, you may here relays clicking and your fan starting and stopping - this is normal when in diagnostics mode.

In Diagnostic Mode – No Fault is indicated by the Check Engine Light continuously & evenly flashing on/off (this is also used to indicate the successful completion of an ECU Reset).

Figure 2 - Check Engine Light Pulse Width

The long pulses (1.3 Seconds) indicate Tens and the short pulses (0.2 Seconds) indicate ones. Pulses are separated by Short Pauses (0.2 Seconds), multiple codes are separated by a Long Pause (1.8 Seconds).

The simplest way for an inexperienced mechanic to retrieve codes is to write the codes down in a sort of Morse Code (dots and dashes), and start a new line when you get a 1.8 Second pause (for NEW code), and then add the actual numbers up after code retrieval is completed.

(See Example Below)

--- CODE EXAMPLE, SINGLE CODE ---

1.3 second pulse (10)
0.2 second pause
1.3 second pulse (10….for a total of 20)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 21)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 22)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 23)
(Code 23 — MAF Sensor)

--- CODE EXAMPLE, MULTIPLE CODE ---

1.3 second pulse (10)
0.2 second pause
1.3 second pulse (10….for a total of 20)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 21)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 22)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 23)
1.8 second pause (this means NEW code)

1.3 second pulse (10)
0.2 second pause
0.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 11)
0.2 second pause
.2 second pulse (1…..for a total of 12)
(Codes 23 and 12, MAF Sensor and Starter Circuit)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuji san meets Scoob! rikimaru Users Photo Gallery 7 03 Jan 2007 11:51 PM
3 weeks into first scoob - lovin' it! sirscooby Newbies - Say Hello Here 11 17 Oct 2005 11:34 AM
Jacking up my Scoob nobby248 Technical General 3 21 Aug 2004 04:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.