Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

Help with my RB5?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25 Apr 2004, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Help with my RB5?

Hi there,

Wondering if any of you can help me out? My 99' RB5 is playing up slightly, when i accelerate in 2nd-5th i can olnly reach 3K RPM before the car starts juddering, like its restricted or hesitating. It isn't smooth at all.

Any ideas?

Richie
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Apr 2004, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator

RB5 mmmmmmmm (Homer Style) cracking car that... I'm no expert at this but could you let us know if this happens all the time? or is it when its Cold or Warm etc? Do you Octane Boost?(i.e. have you used engine cleaner at all) is it only 2nd and 5th?

Thanks RB5 Richie for registering with us. Hope you enjhoy your stay and lets hop someone can help in your question.

Thanks

Gareth
Old 25 Apr 2004, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Sorry about that, a bit vague on the problem. It happens whilst both warm & cold. I have never used octane boost before, although i use nothing else but Shell Optimax. It doesnt happen seem to happen in 1st, but then i'm a bit of a softy and snick it into 2nd straight away... then once in 2nd as you reach 3/3.5K RPM it looses its umph and its the same in 3rd,4th & 5th especially on the motorway.

Hope this helps

Richie
Old 25 Apr 2004, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby

Hi Richie - firstly lovely car mate secondly this could be a number of problems...

I am thinking possibly Plugs, Boost Control Solenoid/Boost Pipework, Sensors ? Can you let me know the following:

1) When were you Spark plugs last changed and what ones do you use ?
2) Do you do oil changes yourself ? Either way is the oil level on the dispstick right at the top (max) ?
3) Do you get the Check ECU light illuminate when this problem happens