Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

power loss

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31 Jul 2008, 10:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
PJF
Fresh Scooby

Unhappy power loss

Hi im new to scoobys, turbo cars and this site and was hoping someone could please help.
I've got a 97 uk impreza turbo and about a week ago the car felt like it was pulling back slightly just before the turbo kicked in, the turbo would then kick in but didnt seem like it was boosting very well.
The next day i cleaned the boost solenoid, and pipes and checked for fault codes (none there), i did find a pipe that goes into the turbo (think from airbox) had a gap init, so i attached it properly.
Over the next couple of days the car did'nt seem to pull back but the turbo had even less of a kick to it.
So i fitted a boost gauge and the car is boosting 11 psi, which leads me to believe there is a fueling problem.
I reset the ecu and no change in power, it seems to idle fine and drive well but when i put my foot down it does'nt do what a scoobys suppose to do.
Could it be the fuel pump?
What are the other possibilites?
Any help would be excellent
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Aug 2008, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby

Re: power loss

hows it going i would check the fuel filter first and then if that fails i would change the mass air-flow sensor cancel out the small things first you proberbly find sumting small thats the problem
Old 01 Aug 2008, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
PJF
Fresh Scooby

The car seems worse today, it seems to hesitate when pulling off in 1st and when i go over 2500 revs it pulls back before it goes
i'll try to get a fuel filter 2mor/2day and a change of spark plugs