Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

Lost power after fitting induction kit !?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02 May 2008, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Young Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rotherham, S Yorks
Posts: 45
Lightbulb Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

Hi guys, helped my mate put a induction kit on his 02 plate bug eye wrx with ppp but he now thinks it has lost power especially bottom end, its lost its 'surge' as he puts it. After reading a few threads on forum seems most ppl recommend no induction kit if under 350bhp nbut i wouldnt expect it to lose power !
Also is it possible ecu needs resetting ??
Hope u can help
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2008, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Cheddarporker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: plymouth
Posts: 167
Send a message via MSN to Cheddarporker
reset the ecu might help
__________________
subaruwrcspares
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2008, 07:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Young Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rotherham, S Yorks
Posts: 45
can u stil do manual resets on bug eye model or is it via plug and computer
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2008, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
tom73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: County Durham
Posts: 1,208
on the bug eye its plug and computer mate
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2008, 09:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Young Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rotherham, S Yorks
Posts: 45
can it be reset with a diagnostic computer ??
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2008, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
2002pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 14,377
Quote from the .org ECU Reset thread.

Quote:
New Age Impreza ECU reset.

The new age Impreza's donít have a manual reset function like the JECS ECU's on the Classic Impreza. The Denso units apparently have a non-volatile RAM, so even disconnecting the battery wonít do it. The only way to reset these ECUs is via the OBDII diagnostics port using a computer.
Found this NASIOC tread on Intake. http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...hreadid=477393
__________________
Pete.

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2008, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Young Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rotherham, S Yorks
Posts: 45
thanx dave the scooby encyclopedia !!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Aug 2009, 06:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
madmerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Midlands
Posts: 34
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

Hi there,
can you let me know if you sorted out this problem please..

I have exactly the same problem, 2001 WRX running 261 bhp. Fitted a Turbosmart Supersonic BOV, and instantly found a loss of power, especially as you discibed at bottom end. I replaced the origional unit, but still have a loss of power.
Have just had a dyno test done and its running at 239 bhp....so i seem to have lost 22 bhp somehow.

Any help would be very very grateful, as everyone i have asked havnt got a clue.

Cheers.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Aug 2009, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
nobby248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cardiff Wales UK.
Posts: 2,744
Send a message via AIM to nobby248
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmerlin View Post
Hi there,
can you let me know if you sorted out this problem please..

I have exactly the same problem, 2001 WRX running 261 bhp. Fitted a Turbosmart Supersonic BOV, and instantly found a loss of power, especially as you discibed at bottom end. I replaced the origional unit, but still have a loss of power.
Have just had a dyno test done and its running at 239 bhp....so i seem to have lost 22 bhp somehow.

Any help would be very very grateful, as everyone i have asked havnt got a clue.

Cheers.
Have you spoken to the following Guru's of Scoobs?

Bob Rawle BRD developments
Jolly green monster

Links

BRDevelopments
www.jollygreenmonster.co.uk
__________________
Poor but happy!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2009, 11:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
madmerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Midlands
Posts: 34
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

Left message from Jolly green monster, no reply as yet..

Dont know of Bob Rawle

After some trawling through these forums, i cant beleive how many people have had a drop in power when changing something like a dump valve, or an air box, or in one case an exhaust system. Surely this all leads to a problem with the standard ECU somehow loosing its settings, in all cases as far as i can tell the only way to resolve was to re map the ECU. but as yet have failed to get a conformation from anybody.

I have contacted a few main dealers / tuners and no one can give me an answer, i found over 20 people in less than an hour of searching with the same or similar problem, we cant of all had leaking pipes or faulty kit..

If anyone out there can shed some light on this UNKNOWN problem please let me know before i splash out another 500 quid for a remap ( the missis will kill me if she finds out!).

Cheers.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2009, 11:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

ever thought that the dyno may have been configured wrong?!


one round here ran a 1000cc nova a few years back,came out with 900bhp(standard car)erm.....wtf!!!!


£500 for remap.....no chance,once you buy the license thats the initial hit over and done with,should be paying somewhere iro £50/£60 for map time per hour


try giving :- http://www.enginetuner.co.uk/ a ring,they may be able to come up with something others have over looked!!!
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2009, 12:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
madmerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Midlands
Posts: 34
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

Ye i can accept that not all dynos read 100% the same, but the car is physically different, its no where as quick on acceleration as before, first gear used to be almost pointless, you can now watch the needle go round.

I have had some mates take it out, and they all agree it isnt a patch on what it was....

Thanks for the link though, will give them a try in a bit.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2009, 12:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

just thought have you a boost controller in the car,if so have you checked the fuse? and made sure no one had funked up the settings?..also have you checked the boost solanoid connections,may be lose/off or crudded up!!!
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2009, 12:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
madmerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Midlands
Posts: 34
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

havnt got a boost controller..

Will check the connections on the solenoid when.......IF it ever stops raining!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2009, 12:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Lost power after fitting induction kit !?

also check the small boost pipe coming from the dumper,make sure its on the correct port..
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power connector in trunk - purpose,fuse postlewt Electrical (Including ICE) 5 22 Oct 2007 05:28 PM
Power keen to reclaim lost ground. News_Bot Champ Car News 0 26 Jul 2007 11:10 AM
Induction kit fitting trunkmonkey666 Engine Bay 3 27 Jul 2006 08:35 PM
Induction kits, FMIC's etc... Phill-type-R Engine Bay 10 07 Jun 2006 04:57 PM
Kuwano Direct power system willfal Technical General 3 31 Dec 2004 04:44 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.