Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

ECU Reset with Prodrive pack?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07 Nov 2007, 08:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
ECU Reset with Prodrive pack?

Hi,

I've had my WRX 300 (55) for a few months now and wanted to reset the ECU. Having read some posts on this forum it appears new age cars need to be reset by the dealer, does this apply to the PPP ecu?

On another note, does using the higher grade fuel make the car run better? I'm finding it lagging in 2nd gear until the turbo kicks in.

Thanks for any advise you can give

Paul
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Nov 2007, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
Why would it need a reset, unless you have upgraded filter or exhaust.

You can do a simple reset...

Disconnect the battery turn on ignition and press the brake (this helps discharge the system). Leave disconnect for an hour with ignition off. Ensure ignition is off then reconnect the battery.

Now take car for a good drive .
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Nov 2007, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks for the advice Pete, I will give that a try.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Nov 2007, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
2002pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 14,377
Quote:
does using the higher grade fuel make the car run better?
Yes Paul! Use 99 ron. Recommend Shell V-Power or Tesco's 99
__________________
Pete.

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Nov 2007, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2002pete View Post
Yes Paul! Use 99 ron. Recommend Shell V-Power or Tesco's 99
Thanks! With the car having a 0-60 time of 4.8 i was a little shocked to find 2nd gear a little slow to pick up, any other car I've had 2nd gear is always ready to rock but then I've always had 6 gear boxes in the past where this wrx 300 is a 5 speed.

Hope the higher ron fuel helps
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Nov 2007, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Forum Sponsor
Paid & Proud
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: north east
Posts: 655
you will most likely need to plug into the OBD port to enable a full ECU re-set............
__________________
ASPerformance
UK distributors PIAA, EXE-TC, PERFORMANCE FRICTION
online shop!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WRSport pricing advice please. Stormmy Subaru Impreza Discussions 2 15 Feb 2008 02:16 PM
Got my Prodrive Pack Stig Subaru Impreza Discussions 4 25 Jan 2007 02:07 PM
06 STi Prodrive Pack ? Stig Subaru Impreza Discussions 2 11 Mar 2006 10:17 PM
NEW PRODRIVE PERFORMANCE PACK FOR 3.0 LITRE RODEO skylight General Chat - Anything about Anything 0 24 May 2005 06:58 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.