Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

How to test a MAF

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25 Aug 2007, 06:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

How to test a MAF

Im new to thi site and to the impreza world so bear with me

I'v got a 1996 impreza and from what i'v read in a few articles, my car has got the MAF flu!

How would i test this myself? If i unplug it should it die or keep running?

Thanks for any help!!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Aug 2007, 07:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud

Unplug the MAF whilst the car is up to temp and engine running. If the MAF is doing its job then it should misfire - cough splutter etc - however if the car continues to idle fine your MAF has the flu.

Old 25 Aug 2007, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Thanks for the info,

I had my car engine washed about two weeks ago by my mechanic, who is generally very good with Subaru's. but my car hasn't been the same since!! its got an eratic idle. if i come to a stop, the revs drop to 100-200 rpm and then shoots up back to normal. but it does this continuasly untill i tap the acc. pedel.

this is why i think the maf could be at play. I it really wise to even attempt to clean it? and if it is, i can only fine switch cleaner here. will it work?

thanks again.

Last edited by NatWrex; 25 Aug 2007 at 07:48 AM.
Old 25 Aug 2007, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud

Quote:
I had my car engine washed about two weeks ago by my mechanic, who is generally very good with Subaru's. but my car hasn't been the same since!!

I don't think you can clean the MAF. Just unplug to the sensor, it could settle it down.

Have a look at this thread.

http://www.subaru-impreza.org/bbs/sh...ad.php?t=14449

Old 27 Aug 2007, 05:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Well, i did the unplug and the car died very quickly. No coughing or spluttering???