Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

dump valve

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04 Feb 2007, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Young Scooby

Red face dump valve

Please help, I have a 96(p)wrx jap import and was thinking about a dump valve.Problem is i'm new to scoobies and dont know which one I need or where it goes can anyone enlighten me???
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Feb 2007, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby

It really depends on what sort of dump valve you want mate? Your Scoob will have a dump valve fitted as standard and unless its leaking you really won't see a huge benefit of fitting an aftermarket one. However should yours be leaking or should you just feel the need then you can fit one of 2 types of dump valve. The first is a recirculating dump valve which is a direct fit for the factory one you have at the moment. Basically the air that is discharged when coming off the throttle is recirculated within the induction system. These types of d/v's are generally quiet and the car very rarely has any running issues if you fit an uprated one. I had a Forge recirc fitted to my Subaru and it did seem to help the amount of lag between gears etc. but in my case my original d/v was leaking!

The other type of d/v available to you is a Vent to Atmosphere or whats commonly know as VTA. These give the tsssssssst sound when coming off the throttle. There have been countless threads across Motoring forums on the WWW about the benefits and pitfalls of fitting a VTA from poor idling to overfuelling etc. Each car is however very different so whilst one Scoob might run poorly with a VTA fitted another might run fine. The VTA basically discharges the boost pressure to atmosphere rather than recirculate it. I have tried many VTA's over the time and I have to say that the HKS SSQV is the best one in terms of performance and noise.