Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

Newbie needs help with 93 wrx

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Nov 2005, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Newbie needs help with 93 wrx

hi guys i am new to impreza ownership and am worried about my car it feels really slow with a very intermittant missfire in fact it hardly misses just a slight skip every now and then but it always feels slow i also have a nissan 200sx s14a and that feels alot faster than the impreza surely thats not right my car is a 93 wrx and has been in the country a year now i know for a fact it hasnt been run on optimax could this be the problem or is it more likely to be my plugs also what boost should it be running it sits nicely at 0.5 bar is this right any help would be most appreciated

Thanx
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2005, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby

Could be the engine is excepting japanese spec fuel?

Try searching round on this forum,

also have a look at the ecu reset sticky in technical.

Oh,and

WELCOME!
Old 30 Nov 2005, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud

Welcome to the site...

Does sound like the car is running in safe mode as 0.5 BAR is only 7.5 PSI. Should be around 0.9 BAR or 13PSI, I believe

As BATFINK said try an ECU reset or try and see if you have any fault codes.

Fuel wise as a Jap import it should be on OPTIMAX or TESCO 99Ron
NEVER use 95Ron fuel.

How to check ECU and rest
http://www.saxonfields.freeserve.co....iag%20Page.htm

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Old 30 Nov 2005, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby