Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

MAF sensor
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21 Sep 2005, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
andrewwhitcombe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Caerphilly S.Wales
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via MSN to andrewwhitcombe
MAF sensor


hi guys.

Done a MAF test today as my scoob was running a little lumpy on low revs. and it hesitates sometimes when its cold!

Had the engine running and i disconnected the sensor, engine died slightly but ideled ok again. Isn't it supossed to cut out altogether if the MAF sensor ok?

Dose this mean it knackerd?

After i realised the problem i took it of the inlet pipe and gave the sensor a good clean with an electrical degreaser.

Refited and ran the engine. Disconnected the sensor and the engine revs died right down and stayed there. nearly cutting out.

any feedback will be greatly appreciated!

Cheers
__________________
If in Doubt Flat Out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2005, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
jls
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: lancashire
Posts: 14
Had problems with mine at around 4000rpm,took the car for a spin to make sure it was warmed up.
Unplugged th maf sensor and the car did the same as yours, tried it again and it stalled.
Did the ecu fault code check and didn't show any faults, apparently will only come up as a fault if the sensor is knackered won't come up if sensor is failing which mine was.
By the way the car should stall when the sensor is unplugged if the sensor is ok.
What year is your scoob? 99/00 year are prone to fail.
Anyway i replaced mine as a precaution and it's like driving a new car. :roll:
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 2,659
Andrew - it could well be that your efforts in cleaning it have paid off BUT can I suggest replacing it just in case.

I never took a chance on the MAF I replaced mine when I bought the car originally for the just in case factor. The car has covered 28K miles and a MAF replacement wasn't show in the history so I did it just in case.

Either that mate or just keep an eye on it cos you spotted symptoms this time
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
andrewwhitcombe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Caerphilly S.Wales
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via MSN to andrewwhitcombe
Thanks for the comments guys.

JLS- my scoob is a year 2000 model

Nelson- I will prob try and replace the MAF sensor, is it only accesable straight from Subaru? and how much does a new one cost?


Whats the worst that could happen if the sensor totally failed!


Thanks again

Andrew
__________________
If in Doubt Flat Out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 2,659
I do believe you can purchase them through other sources - performance subaru sell them IIRC but they are actually reasonably priced via a dealer. Remember to quote the part number for just the Air Flow sensor as you can fit this into the housing. I have heard that some dealers try and fob you off with a couple of hundred bill for the MAF and housing rather than just the sensor at 65.

From what you have said mate it sounds like you have sorted the problem. However a failed MAF shouold cause poor running/performance. This is on the basis that the ECU picks up a problem. You made mention of the problems you experienced before you cleaned it so thats the sort of thing you are looking out for.......

Really depends on how many miles the current MAF has done - are you running an induction kit ??
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 02:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
andrewwhitcombe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Caerphilly S.Wales
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via MSN to andrewwhitcombe
Thanks for that Karl mate!

im not running it with an induction kit, but a have a ITG panel filter fittted.
As you said before these are very oily filters, and this is probbably causing my problems!

I will try and get a new sensor and a Green Type panel filter.


So how would i cet the part number. where would it be located?

cheers

Andrew
__________________
If in Doubt Flat Out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 03:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to Mr_Wid
Just go to a scoob dealership with your vin number mate they'll do the rest. Definately better to replace rather than cleaning and hoping its ok, it will only be a temp fix.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 03:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
andrewwhitcombe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Caerphilly S.Wales
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via MSN to andrewwhitcombe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Wid
Just go to a scoob dealership with your vin number mate they'll do the rest. Definately better to replace rather than cleaning and hoping its ok, it will only be a temp fix.
thanks for the advice!

Will prob take a trip to my local dealer tomorrow
__________________
If in Doubt Flat Out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 2,659
I will post up the part number for you later (when i get home) Andrew

I would seriously consider replacing the ITG sooner rather than later mate
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 04:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
andrewwhitcombe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Caerphilly S.Wales
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via MSN to andrewwhitcombe
thanks Karl! :up:

Yeh the ITG filters are bad new. I took it off the other day to give it a bit of a clean, and i couldn't believe the amount oil that was on it.
Gave it a good clean! was a far bit of oil on the stainlees steel mesh just before the MAF sensor!

cant be good

Andrew
__________________
If in Doubt Flat Out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 07:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
jls
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: lancashire
Posts: 14
My maf sensor cost me 83pounds and 7 pence including the dreaded from subaru at rochdale. Didn't need the vin number just year and model.Bloke in parts say they sella lot. seems a common problem.
Make sure you get the sensor without the housing, it's a lot cheaper.
Hope you get it sorted and back to having fun. 8)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 07:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
andrewwhitcombe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Caerphilly S.Wales
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via MSN to andrewwhitcombe
Quote:
Originally Posted by jls
My maf sensor cost me 83pounds and 7 pence including the dreaded from subaru at rochdale. Didn't need the vin number just year and model.Bloke in parts say they sella lot. seems a common problem.
Make sure you get the sensor without the housing, it's a lot cheaper.
Hope you get it sorted and back to having fun. 8)
thanks for that mate!

Hopefully will be sorted soon
__________________
If in Doubt Flat Out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2005, 09:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 2,659
Heres the MAF Sensor part number matey

The part number is 22794AA010

Its a shame about the ITG panel filters - they are good performance filters but leave a lot of shite behind I never looked back once I fitted a Green Panel to mine - and it made quite a difference in performance having used an STI one before that

Hope you get it sorted 8)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2016, 12:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Re: MAF sensor

I've got a problem with a new sensor MAF I fitted, the turbo boost is all gone now! How do I get this back? Is it a remapping exercise? If so I have an ECU cable what setting do I need to change?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2016, 04:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,566
Re: MAF sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by paris654 View Post
I've got a problem with a new sensor MAF I fitted, the turbo boost is all gone now! How do I get this back? Is it a remapping exercise? If so I have an ECU cable what setting do I need to change?
if you have replaced part for part there should be no changes needed, more information may help,
car, problem, and error codes you got, where you got the new sensor from,
was the ecu reset since the new part was fitted ?
Do you have any error codes currently on the car ?
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Info: 02+ WRX Sensor Diagrams/Location 2002pete Engine Bay 6 24 Jan 2017 02:33 PM
ECU Reset... How many different methods are there??? Richy B Electrical (Including ICE) 95 26 Jan 2011 01:05 PM
Intake Air Temperature & Pressure Sensor Terrydlm Technical General 3 05 Nov 2007 01:23 PM
ECU Data Fault Codes 2002pete Electrical (Including ICE) 2 25 Apr 2007 07:59 AM
HELP engine check light andyd Technical General 26 09 Dec 2006 01:09 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.