Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Technical General

Subaru Impreza Forum

CLUNK during acceleration

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07 Jun 2013, 02:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

CLUNK during acceleration

I'm not a mechanic. This question will be written as a non-mechanic newbie -- I'll do my best

1993 Subaru Impreza sedan (automatic, 2-wheel drive "L" model, 1.8liter engine). During acceleration, big CLUNK ("ouch that hurts my neck") between automatic gear shifting.

Several years ago, when going from "stopped-at-a-stoplight" to full speed, I slowly depress the gas pedal. The car revvs and increases speed. When it automatically shifted to next gear there would be a BIG CLUNK (not a transmission noise) then as I would continue to revv ("revv" = hold pedal down to increase speed), there would be ANOTHER huge clunk as the car automatically went to the next gear.... and another clunk for the next gear. I know it sounds like all I do is revv my car, but the reason this is such a big issue for me is the place I work. I constantly have to run errands for an internet based textbook business (I work at a place where students sell textbooks and between processing books and keeping up w/ supplies, that's a lot of driving!)

ALL the mechanics said either I needed a new Tranny (I went and got one!), or a dumb-ass lame "Oh all subarus do that, they shift rough." One mechanic mentioned the TPS! So I bought a new throttle positioning sensor and VOILA! It worked!

It worked! But, only for the LAST few shifts (higher speeds). Now, no matter how hard I depress the gas pedal, it would shift SMOOTH AS BUTTER!!!!!!!!! So ALL THAT TIME, I just needed a NEW THROTTLE POSITIONING SENSOR!