Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

buying help (again)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29 Sep 2010, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

buying help (again)

Hi all,

I'm thinking about going to have a look at the car listed on carzone.ie

Subaru Impreza 2.0 WRX STI - €4,950 - Used Cars on Carzone.ie - New & Used Cars in Ireland

Its a 1998 with only 55,000 k the clock. I just have a few questions if someone could be so kind. What version is it:
What are the known issues?If any:
What should I look out for on the test drive?:

It looks like an import so i doubt there will be any service history, but i'll check for belt changes and any other work! Engine wise what should i look for, other than head gasket and knocking(Obvious stuff), same for the gearbox. I have no experience with an impreza so i would rather do my homework before looking.(so ask the experts ) ANY and i mean ANY help advice or suggestions are welcome.

Cheers in advance

Rob
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Sep 2010, 07:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud

Re: buying help (again)

its a version 4, although its not standard. there's a buying guide on here somewhere,,, not sure where its stored, sure someone will link it for you.
Old 30 Sep 2010, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Hi Tidgy,

whats not standered on it?(looks live bonnet and spoiler to me) It might give me and idea whats been done. Hopefully only cosmetic stuff. Plus i will have a look for VER4 common problems. I found the buyers guide but thats all stuff i'd look for anyway. Really i was looking for specific problems with the ver4. It looks clean and at 5k seems about right.(cars like these have pluimited in price over the last 2 years) Worth a look?????
Old 30 Sep 2010, 08:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud