Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

rewire a newage maf to classic 99
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 Jun 2010, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
rewire a newage maf to classic 99

hi guys ive got the maf sensor and pipe an know im going to need it mapped but does anybody know which wires connect to which. 5 on the newage and 4 on the standard loom so think the 1 spare is for an IAT sensor which i tink will be wired straight to the ecu. anybody else know which wires connect up. newage maf is from an 05 sti. thanks for looking
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01959.jpg (98.7 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01960.jpg (98.4 KB, 8 views)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Might have mised a previous thread but why are you rewiring it for?
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 01:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

the maf on these cars are fragile an going for bit more power an want to be safe with a reliable maf than for 1 to break wih cosltly engine repair
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Know what you mean but just replace the sensor with an OEM original Maf and sorted no need for rewiring the connector then
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

know what u mean an my original is fine at mo but going up about 370bhp maybe an they get fragile on higher bhp an ive already bought this stuff. it has been done before although not many people know. looking at the pics i think 2 wires look same to be conected. which leaves a power suply and earth an IAT sensor wire
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Quote:
Originally Posted by seddomyster View Post
know what u mean an my original is fine at mo but going up about 370bhp maybe an they get fragile on higher bhp an ive already bought this stuff. it has been done before although not many people know. looking at the pics i think 2 wires look same to be conected. which leaves a power suply and earth an IAT sensor wire
Never heard of that before would be nice to get a simtek map and not have an maf sensor maf less system theirs an idea but all money and dont know if yours ok to be mapped for a simtek map could ask Duncan Subaru ECU Remapping / Tuning @ RaceDynamix | UK | Mobile Subaru Remapping & ECU Tuning mapper on here
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Simtek @ RaceDynamix | UK | Mobile Subaru Remapping & ECU Tuning just answered my own question seems ok to be mapped but if you that worried about the Maf Id just go the Simtek route and get the Maf taken out if it were me
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

yea i might ask him he might have an ideal bob rawle wrote to me saying he mapped a few classics with newage maf an said they feel better to drive than the original if set up great but tried to get in touch an had no luck so im a bit stuck right now. cheers mate
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

not enough money for a simtek an have a holiday to pay for at mo. i had map in past an can afford a map tweak. would love a simtek though
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Quote:
Originally Posted by seddomyster View Post
yea i might ask him he might have an ideal bob rawle wrote to me saying he mapped a few classics with newage maf an said they feel better to drive than the original if set up great but tried to get in touch an had no luck so im a bit stuck right now. cheers mate
Could also ring Dave from Sti Tuning in Dublin 00353857715343 he always gets Bob over aswell to map his cars he might know
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Quote:
Originally Posted by seddomyster View Post
not enough money for a simtek an have a holiday to pay for at mo. i had map in past an can afford a map tweak. would love a simtek though
Should be spending the money on the car not hols
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

cheers ate i will see if these get back to me first an if no luck will try him. thanks
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: rewire a newage maf to classic 99

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiimpreza1984 View Post
Should be spending the money on the car not hols
haha the woman had her way. after this my baby needs tlc
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic / Newage Exhaust MalcB Exterior 3 05 Nov 2009 06:14 PM
How to read ECU codes Classic Impreza stiimpreza1984 Electrical (Including ICE) 12 09 Jun 2009 02:16 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.