Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

getting my map tweak tue
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21 Feb 2010, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
getting my map tweak tue

alright lads. getting this done by the great jgm an getting a power run this time as i never had 1 last time. since last map ive fitted a fmic, went to standard recirc dv an a fujitsubo backbox (i think) as my hks was too loud for me. lovely tone to it now.
fitted fmic an dv due to my last map having a leak in the system so hope all goes well an get a few more ponies from this. will update once done.
thanks for reading
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2010, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: getting my map tweak tue

keep us posted fella
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2010, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,565
Re: getting my map tweak tue

Im sure you will be happy after Simon has worked his magic.
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2010, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

will do mate. was looking at a brand spanking vf23 to replace mine (to be on safe side) on ebay other week an outbid by 5 quid i think but mine not losing any boost so all good still. with the mods ive had in past im hoping to get 320 bhp tops
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2010, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeye_bob View Post
Im sure you will be happy after Simon has worked his magic.
yep im still happy with the magic he done in past. engine still sounds mint. no knocking. just them injectors seem louder lol
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2010, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry
Posts: 141
Re: getting my map tweak tue

What power did you get out of it after the 1st remap,you and me both have the same MY cars,and we were both thinking of upgrading our turbos last year you opted for the vf23 and i opted for the vf28
.Interesting enough after having 3 different dump valves(baileys,forge,blitz) i've also switched back to the standard recirc valve,car seems to run better and not so savage when changing between the gears.
__________________
Power is Nothing ,without Control
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2010, 01:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: getting my map tweak tue

was it mapped with the dump valve on it? if setup correctly shouldn;t make much difference to the performance of the car after mapping.

good luck with the mapping fella, hope you don't have the same issues i have
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2010, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

hi guys sorry not replied. slider i didnt know how much power in 1st run as we didnt do a dyno but was about 310bhp but didnt know. just had me map tonight as jgm couldnt make it last night an it made 324bhp an 319 lbft torque. im suprised by the results tbh an very happy. the leak is now sorted an he could advance thhe timing due to fmic being fitted. i had the baileys an it has siezed due to bad weather. had frozen up.
so just to update to people havent seen this:
my99 uk turbo
k an n induction kit, fmic, vf23, walbro fuel pump, standard injectors(440cc), full decat, kakumei headers an uppipe, fujitsubo backbox, 3 port solenoid an mapped on shell v power.
it was abit laggy but once it boosted it went.

im happy its running fine now

Last edited by seddomyster; 24 Feb 2010 at 08:43 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2010, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidgy View Post
was it mapped with the dump valve on it? if setup correctly shouldn;t make much difference to the performance of the car after mapping.

good luck with the mapping fella, hope you don't have the same issues i have
what issues do u have tidge. ur still goin for mega turbo on your car in future arent u?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2010, 08:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: getting my map tweak tue

Quote:
Originally Posted by seddomyster View Post
what issues do u have tidge. ur still goin for mega turbo on your car in future arent u?

as i understand it its do do with airflow and where it goes, the recirc dumps it back into the airbox, which normaly wouldn't mater cos the ecu copes with it, when you fit a dump vlave the air is released elsewhere, so the ecu expects aditional air and it doesn;t arrive. when mapped for it it dopesn;t expect taht extra air.

i believe theres more to it than that but thats my basic understanding of it.


yeah not happened as of yet, some issues kicked up there end and had to postpone it. not re organised it as of yet
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2010, 08:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

no way. u think it be ready for the summer. as the weather is at the mo u have time to organise hopefully. i wouldnt want a 400 plus bhp car on these crap roads. on the other hand id be tellin them to get a move on, i wanna take on ferraris ha
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2010, 10:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry
Posts: 141
Re: getting my map tweak tue

Cheers mate for the reply,i wanted to know mainly as i finally had mine remapped on saturday,and it peaked at 325 bhp & 320 lb/ft torque,before the lambda sensor let go.Even then on the final run it hit 317bhp &316 lb/ft torque,which i was highly impressed with,considering the mileage of the car.135,000.Not a lot in it really between a vf23 & a vf28 then,what sort of rpm are you at when the turbo starts boosting ?. Also do you miss the quick spool up of your old td04 .lol
__________________
Power is Nothing ,without Control
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Feb 2010, 05:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

tbh i dont really miss the spool on td04 as mine was pretty much buggered. i do miss it on a 70mph run though. i think mine full boosts at about 3500 rpm an does have lag in the system. but when it boosts it really pulls. it mad how not much difference in them. why make 2 turbos that are like close matched. im thinking yours will boost earlier than mine. on my first map the lamba sensor took its time to get going. not replaced yet so could be a job in the future. i get 324bhp at 5700rpm an 319lbft at 5189 rpm
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Feb 2010, 09:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
RAianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 1,107
Re: getting my map tweak tue

Nice power fig you got there
__________________
"RA is the only way"
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Feb 2010, 09:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: getting my map tweak tue

yea im very happy with it. thanks mate. gonna stop there an fit me 4 pots asap an drop links an my suspension on these models are poor. dont want to go for coilovers an price tag is out of range so wondering if sti suspension is different or fit prodrive?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edwards suggests tweak to new-look restarts News_Bot Nascar News 0 08 Jun 2009 11:22 AM
NASCAR boss France hints at series tweak. News_Bot Nascar News 0 02 Jul 2006 03:36 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.