Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

ecu 6k from a sti
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12 Nov 2009, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
ecu 6k from a sti

hi guys im about to get this ecu for my clssic uk turbo but just wanna make sure its the right thing to get and been told this will give me 280 which to me is a big jump from 208bhp standard, or is this true? will i need it mapped up?

ive got no mods just dump valve n boost gauge, also have turbo td05 on it which lucky me it came with! and also is this a good ecu to have to chip on a later date plus going with the mods decat, induction kit etc
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Nov 2009, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

why not map the original ECU and save shelling out on a differant ECU that WILL need mapping to your car??!!..
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Nov 2009, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
nobby248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cardiff Wales UK.
Posts: 2,744
Send a message via AIM to nobby248
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayne2000turbo View Post
hi guys im about to get this ecu for my clssic uk turbo but just wanna make sure its the right thing to get and been told this will give me 280 which to me is a big jump from 208bhp standard, or is this true? will i need it mapped up?

ive got no mods just dump valve n boost gauge, also have turbo td05 on it which lucky me it came with! and also is this a good ecu to have to chip on a later date plus going with the mods decat, induction kit etc
Hi

Please give more info... Most standard ecu's can be re-mapped... but you will need supporting modifications to ensure your not wasteing money

Uprated fuel pump (Walbro) and high flow air filter... minimum supporting modifications required first IMHO...

Is the car de-catted ?
__________________
Poor but happy!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Nov 2009, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
brumbrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 1,975
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

yep, need more info to help, i.e year of car and supporting mods. sounds like you could be wasting your money on the new ecu
__________________
Interested in everything
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2009, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

its a 1995 uk turbo 208bhp classic, no mods not even decat, was getting ecu as ive been told its best one to get for easy mod but will decat n induction kit bigger intercooler then get it mapped to suit but just want to know if i can just swap the ecu's over as its a standard sti v2 ecu going on my standard classic? if not ill keep it off until i get the mods just said done then fit it then map?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2009, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
rikimaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sussex
Posts: 3,335
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

V2 STi ECU can't be mapped as is mate. There are ways round it like an ESL daughterboard though. WOuld say though, that if you are gonna get a re-map anyway, why bother changing the ECU?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2009, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

ok ill fit it and see how she runs, and then look into getting esl daughterboard and go from there, cheers
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Nov 2009, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
holyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: heckfield hampshire
Posts: 1,662
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

think you will find the plugs are diff mate as your car is a uk model
and ecu is from a jdm car if ive read this right
__________________
valentino rossi master of motogp
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Nov 2009, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

i hope not!! lol
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Nov 2009, 02:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

ok ive fitted it but dont seem to have made any difference, ive read that a sti v2 6k ecu is a good upgrade for my car n the guy off ebay put the same so do i need to do a ecu reset? a lil frustrated now :P
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Nov 2009, 03:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

The z4 is supposed to be the best but all you get is slightly more boost and a 112mph limiter
The cheapest option is to get a chip with a generic map of fleabay and a full decat exhaust (no limiter and more boost) . What ecu has yours got coz if its the 7d then the plug for chip is already there otherwise you gotta be good at soldering to put in the plug(comes with chip)
Hope this helps Gav

Last edited by gavinpo; 21 Nov 2009 at 07:23 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2009, 06:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Re: ecu 6k from a sti

Try first to re-map the ECU if it not helps then change the ECU.If you have an EJ20G with TD05 turbo then you can use a 6K ECU .


Subaru Headlights
Subaru LED Tail Lights

Last edited by TomWood; 01 Dec 2009 at 02:17 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.