Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Help required
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 Sep 2004, 06:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Big E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,827
Send a message via MSN to Big E
Help required

When starting the car first thing i notice that it is a bit sluggish, this has happened twice now can abyone shed any light on this as it is bugging me now.

also when this happens the rev counter is well below 1000rpm and it sounds as if it is struggling to get up to normal revs on start up.

any help would be appreciated
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Sep 2004, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 2,659
Morning mate - sorry to hear about your woes Well I would put this down to a sensor either failing/failed or mis reading. My favourite would be either the crank sensor or cam sensor. If I were you mate check ECU for any fault codes (it tells you how to do it on here www.ravensblade-impreza.com cos I am guessing that you may well have an ECU Fault code.

Otherwise I can talk you through removing and cleaning up the sensors as they can get carboned up which can cause all manner of problems. I had a similar problem with m prev WRX - it turned out to be the Cam Sensor !! The thing had to be removed and replaced with a 2nd hand one from Grade A and the car fired perfectly from that day forth.

HTH
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Sep 2004, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Big E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,827
Send a message via MSN to Big E
cheers Nelson will let you know once i have had a look at Ravensblade
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Sep 2004, 09:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Big E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,827
Send a message via MSN to Big E
can you let me know where these sensors are m8 and i will give them a clean up

air flow sensor and cam / crank sensors

cheers
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Sep 2004, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: s wales
Posts: 30
slugish

try an ecu reset did mine last week now a different car smoother and more responsive
all i did was disconnect battery overnight
reconnect batery then take for a varied drive to reset values
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Sep 2004, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 2,659
Leave it with me E - I'll need to dig up a photo of the Phase 1 engine bay to give you some pointers The Crank Sensor is the brown one (IIRC) that sits beneath your alternator/alternator belt. Its kinda at the front of the engine actually in between the belt. Its a little difficult to explain - but you can't miss it cos its brown in colour and it stands off against the metal black very easily. What you need to do is unplug the sensor and then remove, I believe its a 10 sized spanner job. Then you have the lovely job of levering the sensor out of its hole. When removed you will no doubt see the thing carbonned up. Use some Carb/Brake Cleaner or WD40 to blast all the crap off it. Refit and try starting your car up and see how she fires.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Sep 2004, 06:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Big E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,827
Send a message via MSN to Big E
cheers for that nelson you are a star m8 :wink:

and thanks Patrolman :wink:
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reset required? bmd Electrical (Including ICE) 2 21 Dec 2007 12:13 PM
Is a re-map required? turbo2000 Technical General 7 08 Jan 2006 06:12 PM
Help urgently required stormblue Engine Bay 17 05 Nov 2005 03:35 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.