Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Spraying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29 Mar 2009, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby

Spraying...

...couple of questions

Had a spin a while back now when all the weather was crazy....scuffed the rear bumper quite bad....

not the best photo but you can make it out...its down to the black plastic about 12 inches wide and 4 inches high....looks Terrible and makes me really paranoid that when people see it they think "ooo look at him, flash car, can't drive"

chips away wanted 200

a mate of a mate said he'd do it for 80, i've had no experience with re-spraying so no idea if thats good/bad?

Also, on the rear left arch two bubbles appeared and quickly flaked off, leaving two 5 pence size circular patches of bodywork showing (right down to the bare metal) they are starting to rust, only slightly. What should I do

Thanks everyone
Old 30 Mar 2009, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby

Re: Spraying...

First thing I'd do is avoid places like chips away if you have any respect for your car of your bodywork. Have never heard a good thing about them and have on many occasions heard of people having to get the work re-done. 80 sounds very cheap to me but is your mate gonna do a good job? My advice would be check out a few reputable body shops and see what kind of quotes they can come up with, and you also get a chance to have a look round their premises and see what kind of work their doing.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Mar 2009, 07:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud

Quote:
Originally Posted by rikimaru View Post
My advice would be check out a few reputable body shops and see what kind of quotes they can come up with, and you also get a chance to have a look round their premises and see what kind of work their doing.
Very good advice.

Old 30 Mar 2009, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)