Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Help please. Contiplating a purchase

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21 Sep 2008, 03:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Re: Welcome nellymeister joins our Forums...

Hello everyone, I am extremely new to Subaru's and I am just contiplating a purchase. I live in CHina but return to N Ireland maybe twice a year where I like to keep a car at hand. I have been looking at a 1997 P1 WRX STI Type R. My brother has just checked it out and he says the car drives very very well, interior is spotless etc. No strange noises, smoke, rattles. The car itself is with a private owner who seems to know alot about the car although the history is causing me some concern. The car was a jap import into the UK, he then bought it and brought to N Ireland. The car has had an engine rebuild and the owner claims that he would always recomend buying a type r with a new engine. He also stated that the car MUST have octane booster added to the fuel as failure to do so will destroy the con rods. The car is due MOT in Nov, I have said that I would like him to put it through the mot before I consider to buy, he has agreed to this. I know there is no "bullet proof" answer to buying second hand, especailly such a highly tuned engine. My brother and I are a bit nervous as we did not realise that the impreza would be so fragile, is this true or an exaggeration? Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated. I have also looked at some models from Calder Performance Cars in Scotland which seem very nice but prices are significantly higher. The car will never be for everyday use but for weekends and maybe one or two weeks a year. Looking forward to heraing from you all. Many Thanks Neil
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby

Re: Help please. Contiplating a purchase

Hey mate,