Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Grinding sound from rear while turning right

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Aug 2008, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Question Grinding sound from rear while turning right

Hi all. My name is Mike. I am here today to ask of your help. This is my first time on this site, and I can't say that I will be an avid member. But I like my subaru, and what better place to get info than from the people who love them too. So I hope that some of you will be kind enough to give me some insight. Here it goes. I own a 1993 Subaru Impreza. Today I drove down a friends driveway on his farm at a hearty speed, hit a couple bumps and braked hard. I made two right turns at stop signs with no problem. Drove another 2 km or so, and was on a moderate right turn at about 60km/h and heard for the first time a pulsating grinding sound. Now it is doing it on every right turn. I have made sure that nothing is touching the tires, or close to them. The drum brakes in the back were done about 40,000 ago. Do these cars have cv joints in the back? Is it a LSD?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and Thank You in advance.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Aug 2008, 11:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby

Re: Grinding sound from rear while turning right