Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Fuel Consumption

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02 Aug 2008, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Fuel Consumption

First of all just wanted to sey hello to every one as im a new member here

Now this mite sound a bit of a stupid question, but im a newbie with subarus heh.

Anyways i bought my first subaru and ive had it a few months now, Its just a Basic Subaru impreza Sport Gx, As im only 19 and this is the only type of subaru i cant get insured on at the moment

What im worried about is the miles per gallon im getting out of this subaru, its just a normal sport with only 125 bhp but i seem to be gettin 17 MPG maybe 18 if im lucky, filled my tank up about 13 times now and the average is about 17 MPG, now take in mind this is around town and not on the motorway but surley this is a bit low for a bog standard 125Bhp sport?

i did have a problem with the Lamda sensor when i first purchased the car which can decrease fuel comsumption but got that replaced and works fine now, so just cant seem to work out why im gettin such low mileage?

there is a aftermarket sports backbox which has been added to the car but thats the only modification thats been done and i wouldnt think it would bring it to that low of a MPG rate.

Lol i mite sound stupid but what are MPG are you gettin around town, and what type of subaru are you driving.

Thanks.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Aug 2008, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Re: Fuel Consumption

wow that is low!

i have a sti version 3 running around 290bhp with a few mods, like full exhaust, dv, induction and that but i get nearly 24 on the motorway and around 20 local driving, that is unless im booting it everywhere but even then the lowest i have got is 14!

does she fell like its running ok?? i generally use opimax in mine
Old 04 Aug 2008, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)