Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

A short story about Sigma M30 on my Scooby

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31 Dec 2007, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Regular Scooby

Smile A short story about Sigma M30 on my Scooby

Hi there,

After a couple of weeks of buying a UK Spec Turbo2000 I drove and parked up at Lakeside shopping centre. I pressed the fob to lock the car and "nothing". I just thought that the batteries on the fob were low so I changed them and still "nothing". Thinking it all may need somekind of reset I disconnected and reconnected the battery and "Hey Presto" it worked.

A month or two later this happened again rounda friends house. The same procedure sorted this out. Now I am an electronics engineer and what freaked me out was that disconnecting the negative terminal didn't solve the problem but removing the positive did.

Now!!...
Over Christmas (Christmas eve, Thursday, Friday and today" I have been driving into work in central London. My building is surrounded by telephone masts and like clockwork the keyfob does absolutely nothing and disconnecting the battery makes no difference.

I was stuck there Christmas eve and so called Subaru for advice. They said to put in the keycode into the number pad and that also done nothing, so I called the RAC. After 40 mins the guy turned up. Checked my fob, which gave a strong signal checked around blindly under the dash and bonnet wiggling this and that and nothing. He called for a flat bed to take me home which would be there a couple of hours later.
Sat in my car 2 hours after we were aloud to go home early Christmas eve, RAC called to say the flat bed recovery would be with me in 30 mins. Knowing I would soon be taken home I put the key in the ignition and put the stereo on. At this point thought to try the PIN code again.. IT B$%^DY WORKED..