Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Boost Psi 98 Uk Impreza
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Nov 2007, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Boost Psi 98 Uk Impreza

Hi anyone help ive a 98 uk scooby what boost should it be running ? at mo its running 16psi it has full decat green panel filter and vta dump valve
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2007, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Anders52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 228
Send a message via MSN to Anders52
As standard for a 97 at least it should be around 13-14 psi or 0.9 bar. Previous years ran at 1 bar (above atmospheric) or 2 bar static.

Has the car been remapped before you had it or is this a sudden increase in charge pressure that you have just noticed?
__________________
Liver is evil!!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
cheers mate not sure of history but was fitted with pro drive end can before i bought it (changed by dealer) green panel filter but also bracket where k&n had been fitted before,i fitted decat pipe but only just fitted boost gauge ,performs well, boost accelerating through gears reads 16psi any clues? what sort of bhp should this be?also as a uk car shouldnt it be run on 95 octane feul i run super unleaded also sticker inside car states super unleaded only which dosnt sound right as car is a uk one lots of questions i know but the only way to find out is to ask cheers
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
just because its a uk spec car doesn`t mean you should run it on worse fule. Put either normal super unleaded or vpower/bp ultimate in it whenever possible
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
regarding power the best way to find out is to see where your nearest dyno dynamics rolling road is and get it tested. That way it will also show up if there`s anything not right with the way the engine`s running
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Cheers Mate Bit Of A Cash Flow Issue At Mo Thanks For Reply But Am I Right In Thinking As A Uk Car It Should Be 95 Octane Fuel As I Dont Know Whats Been Done Its Allway On Super Unleaded,still Lots Of Fun Though Whats Usuall Price For Remap And Would I Get A Increase In Boost ? Torque And Bhp? I Live In Worcester West Mids Any Ideas Good Remaps Locally Dont Want To Go Superchip Route
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
No mate. I think I`m right in saying that it can run on normal unleaded if you must but don`t do it unless you can avoid it.

Remaps range in price. I believe yours hasn`t got the mappable ecu so would need something like the Simtek. They are £950 supplied, fitted and mapped and from experience they are pretty good.

I believe Powerstation are probably your closest option but not sure what they`re like for mapping. From memory I believe they are based in Tewkesbury though
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 07:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
all scoobys should be run on super only.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 07:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
950 Remap Sh_t Have To Put Mrs On The Game May Take A While Though Could I Not Use Ecu From Later Model?what Increase From A Remap Also Uk Dave What U Running?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 09:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
I believe I`m right in saying that the wiring doesn`t match up for the later ecu`s so that prevents you from doing so.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Nov 2007, 12:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
also the map will prb not work, or not be right for the car.

if your worried about the car then get it on a rolling road for a diagnostic run. you may find it has been properly mapped and not need worry about it, or it may tell you where the issue is
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impreza Applied Model/Engine Codes 2002pete Technical General 40 02 Jul 2015 06:22 PM
Info: Subaru Engines and Conversion Principles djquest Modifications - Tips and Tricks 10 19 Dec 2011 12:16 PM
Big Value from Final-Edition Impreza WRX Mezza World Wide Automotive - News / Discussions 5 06 Jul 2007 03:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.