Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Tuning
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10 Jan 2007, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
UK300 Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 337
Send a message via MSN to UK300 Lee
Tuning

Greetings all,

Taking the scoob into power engineering on monday, After fitting the exhaust system and dump valve and induction kit i want to get it running correctly. 125 is all it costs for a tune up.
The main reason im going there is that when im sitting in 6th doing about 80mph if i i take my foot of the accerlarator and then to the floor i can hear the induction kit sucking in the air and its sounds a bit like this ssssh sssh ssssh sshh and then to a normal ssssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. After speaking to power engineering they dont really reckon yhou should have a induction kit but go for a panal filter instead. What are your thoughts and who has a panal filter and who has an induction kit?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jan 2007, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
what type of induction kit have you got?
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jan 2007, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
UK300 Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 337
Send a message via MSN to UK300 Lee
ive got a Powertech Induction Kit which i bought from scoobworld. Is it a bad one?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jan 2007, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
is it wing mounted?


nothing wrong with induction kits though, as long as its not a sponge one or you put to much oil on it. wing mounted kts are better because they are out of the hot engine bay
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jan 2007, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I have a panel filter but sadly when you have a front mount fitted, you have to have an induction kit... I have a green panel filter at the moment, but we'll see how far I go with some future mod's to whether or not I'll have to have something different...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jan 2007, 07:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
Whats your boost gauge saying mate at the time, you can hear the induction shhhhhhh when you put your foot down thats normal as far as im concerned if you floor it you sure the intermittent shhhh`s arent the ecu sorting fuelling out for a split second as a result of flooring it in top gear-probably off boost aswell at the time (though this is only a guess) so long as it didnt fluctuate whilst on boost on acceleration wouldnt worry too much mate, had a green induction kit on mine for around 22k miles only probs ive had were a maf around 45kmiles which is usually when they go anyway, mates did with std airbox on so not linking that with the ind kit an its been fine since.Could be a number of things i guess.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
UK300 Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 337
Send a message via MSN to UK300 Lee
Cheers all for replying, i dont have a boost guage, but that is on the books..... i have read about the k and n typhoon and seen peteruk300 pictures, his goes straight into the wing as mine sits in the engine bay (see Pic)





and there is a gap on the left which looks like thats where the air comes from
and thats where the k and n typhoon goes into.



On scoobyworld you can buy a cold air feed pipe, if you scan down to the bottom you can see the pic and description. Where does this pipe get fitted???

http://www.scoobyworld.co.uk/catalog...roducts_id=106

Cheers in advance

Lee

Last edited by UK300 Lee; 11 Jan 2007 at 02:38 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 04:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
UK300 Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 337
Send a message via MSN to UK300 Lee
Change of plan, just spoke to power engineering again, getting a decat downpipe, uprated fuel pump, and a tek2 chip, they reckon its going to be around 320bhp..... AWSOME
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 04:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
Good stuff mate,PE are quite good as well.

PM replied to btw mate.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 04:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by UK300 Lee View Post
Change of plan, just spoke to power engineering again, getting a decat downpipe, uprated fuel pump, and a tek2 chip, they reckon its going to be around 320bhp..... AWSOME

tbh mate i'd dump the teck2 and have a tek3 ecutek full remap, should be 330bhp once decated and mapped (with fuel pump as well).

never beena fan of off the shelf maps due to the nature of the impreza
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 05:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
Would add a frontmount to the list personally first if funds allow
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 05:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I'd go along with all of that too mate

Congrats

Lucky git!! I'm still waiting engine upgrades!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 05:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
UK300 Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 337
Send a message via MSN to UK300 Lee
so what the differance between a tek 2 and a tek 3????? plus dave, how much is a front intercooler cost, can i use the exisitng one but just get it mounted
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 06:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
Basically lee you wanna get everything together/fitted whichever you prefer and make the map the last thing as you get so far into modding that another map will be needed to get the best results from what youve added ie mapped to a topmount your induction temps are gonna be higher id have thought than with running a front mount-detonation or knock(bad)is more likely with high induction temps which is why most ppl fit a fmic to reduce the risk when increasing their cars power, in theory its safer to run a higher amount of boost based on a few things-turbo size(is it working efficiently-or being pushed beyond its reliable usable limit and compressor housing size(to do with flowing enough air)the same with injectors can they flow enough fuel to cope with the increase in boost (irrespective of fuel pressure)theres a few things to consider though yours being an sti im guessing you`ll have less to change than others on here like me with a uk turbo . Its just to get the most value out of the map i`d do some investigating first-frontmounts start at around 400 by the way.Bear in mind the mapper will only map to the cars limits however depending on the supporting mods fitted this will increase/decrease where that limits at.Also remember figures quoted when remapped vary from car to car for various reasons.

Last edited by uk dave; 11 Jan 2007 at 06:59 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2007, 06:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Agree with Dave there Lee Making the most of the mapping is what really matters. No point in doing a few bits and then mapping it and then a few bits more and mapping it again. The cost soon adds up.

Personally if I had the choose and money (which is important!! ) I'd have everything done that I wanted and then get it mapped as it would be as I wanted it, with no hassles again. Might take say a week to build or do (whichever route you go down) so put some thought in it and go for what YOU want from the car...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tuning guide Tidgy Modifications - Tips and Tricks 0 19 Jun 2008 08:59 AM
Wrx tuning help jammychap Technical General 37 15 Nov 2007 12:37 PM
03 sti uk tuning advise pls Boostjunky Technical General 3 24 Sep 2007 05:59 PM
Subaru Gr.N engine tuning ? torrekens Subaru Impreza Discussions 2 24 Feb 2005 02:55 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:20 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.