Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Newbie here...with a load of questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31 Dec 2006, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
M_H
Fresh Scooby

Newbie here...with a load of questions

Hi guys, Im new to this forum, so thought I'd say hi.
And to start with i have a big post with many questions...hope you can help me with them
Only just bought a 2002 bugeye wrx last week, should be collecting the car sometime this week, and cant wait after the test drive I had.

Moving up from a 206gti, and the difference in performance just blew me away you don't realise how fast you are actually going and it seems so easy hitting 100.

Anyway the ride was a lot more refined than i had expected, and it was a very quiet and smooth drive, however, I did expect the "classic burble" but couldnt hear it, the engine was so quiet it was like sitting in my dads bmw...
How can I get this sound that seems to come with all the classic shapes?

I wanted to get a backbox, anyone have any recommendations for the loudest one that will gfive me my burble craving? (not too expensive mind, cos I have lots of other mods to do lol)

However, the first thing I am going to do is change the headlights, as I do not like the standard lamps one bit...I was thinking either the quad conversion, but am not sure where I can get these (not the prodive ones tho)...anyone know of cheap ones I could get hold of?
OR I might go for these...http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Subaru-Impreza...QQcmdZViewItem

anyone got those? pics please.

Finally a few questions about running the scoob...
I was told about the ticking over of the engine after it has been caned...but if I drive it under "normal" conditions...do I still have to let the engine cool?