Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

klanking in my rear end!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Dec 2006, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby

klanking in my rear end!

i've had a klanking metal against metal noise for the past few days coming from under the rear end. went on ramp today, brakes, springs, anti roll bushes, wheels all seem fine. happens usually on bumpy surfaces. any suggestions of what to look for or what it might be? i'm no expert but i had a gander and got two monkeys to have a gander also (as the organ grinder was not present), they scratched their heads also.
and before you ask, yes the boot is empty and it's not the jack.

car is uk my99 classic

any thought appreciated.
rgds,
Andrew.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2006, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby

Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Dont shocks knock when they are going? I would have said bushes as well, but you said they are fine... Did you check the pads to see there wherent in need of replacement?? I know you said brakes... wasnt sure about the pads..

I'm fresh out of idea's to be honest mate...

Is it a constant noise or a intermittaint one??
Old 19 Dec 2006, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby

it's constant on bumps, i hope it aint the shocks, you got me worrying now. i'm hoping to get a closer inspection this week, but wouldn't mind knowing before hand what the possibilities were.
pads were a thought(and secretly i'm hoping its these 'cause i'll then have the excuse to upgrade, but i only had a brief look and will want a keener eye than mine to have a gander, but as i said the organ grinder was not present, just 3 monkeys (one being me).
Old 19 Dec 2006, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby

Send a message via MSN to tiny