Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

hud system
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11 Oct 2006, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
hud system

Thinking maybe going down the tom cruise route and getting a hud system for my defi's and other sensor info. seen the following on ebay, what do people think?


http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d..._promot_widget
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
nice, not cheap though
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
yeah think if i got it i'd go through scoobyclinic anyway, only saving 30 going through ebay and there maybe issues with warrenty on the item cos of ebay.

will be about 500 to set it up (on top of the buy price) fully, or about 100 if i go down the cheaper option.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
blimey mate, is it actually worth it for what you`ll gain?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
the 500 is a bit of a high price but it includes the addition of all the possible sensors, including water temp, fuel pressure and exahust temp which are about 70 ish for each sonsor .

the 100 is based on just fitting for current sensor, aka, oil temp, oil perssure, boost presure, revs and speed.

o also setting up the changes lights and all other functions.

comes to about 3 hours labour, which ain that bad
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
at the end of the day mate, its your decision but tbh imo its a lot of money either way for no real gain
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
maybe, tbh thinking i may get the unit but not bother with all the sensors
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
surely you could add the sensors later
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2006, 01:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
yep exactly, all the extra bits are the sensor and wires to fit and connect them
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2006, 05:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Wouldnt the SECS Monitor do the same job??
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Oct 2006, 08:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill-type-R
Wouldnt the SECS Monitor do the same job??
a what? lol
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Oct 2006, 03:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
SECS Monitoring unit, its a mini type PC that sits in the pod on the classic's dash and gives you every bit of data going.. I think you can connect it up to a laptop too....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Oct 2006, 03:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
got the phone for it,,, pmsl
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Oct 2006, 03:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Its a great bit of kit and saves all the dial's on the dash board. Very good stuff
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Oct 2006, 03:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
things is its out of the diret line of sight, unlike hud
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU Reset... How many different methods are there??? Richy B Electrical (Including ICE) 95 26 Jan 2011 01:05 PM
IRC: New yellow flag system to be tested on Ypres. News_Bot Rally News 0 09 Jun 2008 07:25 PM
HELP engine check light andyd Technical General 26 09 Dec 2006 01:09 PM
Which exhaust system? trashcanman Subaru Impreza Discussions 6 04 Apr 2006 05:31 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:53 PM.

Archive: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.