Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

95 Ron + Octan booster = Super?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Jun 2006, 06:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Question 95 Ron + Octan booster = Super?

I have a question guys and gals and I'm sure you can help!!

I put in super which costs 2p per litre more and gives me a Ron rating of 97. Now if I bought 95 Ron and put in an Octan booster would that be the same as putting in the super or would that be a better option?

I sometimes find it hard to get Super and others it just costs a bloody fortune...

I was just wondering what you guys thought? Also if I had the car eventually mapped, would this make any difference to the performance as well?

Just was thinking thats all Thanks guys and gals
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Much cheaper to buy the 97-98 ron.... But worth keeping a bottle of OB in the boot just in case you cannot find 97-98 ron and have to put 95 ron in. You should be using 97-98 ron with OB in a car disigned for 100 ron anyway...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Mate I've not put in octane booster since I've had the car!! I dont think the first owner did either!!

Is that bad?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
has the engine been mapped for uk fuel?
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
No mate Still standard as it left Subaru....

No detting tho I'm told its running rich
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
mmmm, imports tend to run very lean when run on uk fuel, can damage engine
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Not mine!! Was running rich when it was on the rollers at Alan Jefferies....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
o right, did you have it from first import?
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
No mate, a guy had it for 18 months before me apparently... It was first registered in the UK in 2003 June/July time....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
he prob had it mapped then, doubt it would be running rich if it wasn't
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I doubt it mate... No Apexi or anything like that in the car that I know of.....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jun 2006, 08:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
didn't think of that, you cant map your year car can you
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jun 2006, 10:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
No mate But when its been on the rollers at Alan Jefferies, it was fine and running rich all the way through the rev range... I figure its fine

Failing that, the header and cat that are on the car at the moment are quite rusty due to the water leak that it had when the previous owner had it (and has left be) so I figure replacing them, remapping it, might be a good way to go.... Just as a start anyways
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jun 2006, 10:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
Yeah strange that about it running rich Remember you saying that and thinking thats odd.

Sounds like a good idea for first mods mate as they're a quick car as standard.

Also those would be cheap to do mate.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jun 2006, 10:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I'm told the cat can release 30bhp and the headers can give as much as 40lb ft of torque extra... But they do come at a price.. Maybe later on at some point... But right now, I can keep it on the road, service it etc, but nothing much else...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda bid to help Super Aguri refugees. News_Bot Formula News 0 10 May 2008 02:22 PM
'Three days' to save Super Aguri. News_Bot Formula News 0 17 Apr 2008 11:50 AM
Confidence booster for 'Kiyo' News_Bot Superbike News 0 07 Apr 2008 09:20 PM
Davidson: No overnight cure for Super Aguri. News_Bot Formula News 0 18 Feb 2008 10:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.