Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Looking for Info

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 Jan 2006, 01:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Unhappy Looking for Info

I've got an impreza RS 2.5, manual, 2005. 14k miles on it so far.

I was driving home and hear a loud clack clack clack. This noise keeps going the whole time this event is taking place. I look down 3 seconds later and the "Check engine" light turns on. 10 seconds after that, the "oil" light turns on. I pull over and call subaru roadside.

It gets towed to the dealer and I get a call that there was no oil in the engine and there is severe lower engine damage. They will not cover the reapirs because the last time the oil was changed by them was 10k miles ago.

I'm an impreza noob and mechanically challenged, so be gentle. It seems odd to me that all the oil would be gone from the engine and no leakage from the engine that the oil could have leaked out from. Does it eat that much oil? My last car would go forever and not loose any oil, it would just need to be changed.

Wouldn't there be some kind of pre-warning that the oil was low before it would just burn up and die?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2006, 08:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tome99
I've got an impreza RS 2.5, manual, 2005. 14k miles on it so far.

I was driving home and hear a loud clack clack clack. This noise keeps going the whole time this event is taking place. I look down 3 seconds later and the "Check engine" light turns on. 10 seconds after that, the "oil" light turns on. I pull over and call subaru roadside.

It gets towed to the dealer and I get a call that there was no oil in the engine and there is severe lower engine damage. They will not cover the reapirs because the last time the oil was changed by them was 10k miles ago.