Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Latest Mods on the Type R.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 Aug 2005, 12:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Latest Mods on the Type R.

Rundown on latest work done to the Type R.

2.5 bottom end. Using Type R heads.
Uprated Oil pump.
Header Kit.
TD05/6 20g Turbo
550cc injectors
Cambelt
Water pump
Oil cooler sandwage plate. Oil filter now back in original place.
STI 7 Rear Diff and shafts
Front 3.9 Diff
Fuel pressure reg.
Tons of gaskets and seals and running in oil.

Front bumper sprayed.

I have to run the car in. Then back to Scoobysport for a remap which will give 350 bhp 350 ft/lbs torque. Been told the engine will take much more than this.
So, I will have a new ECU which will take the car nearer 400/400 this will also do away with the dreaded MAF censer.

As I am running in the turbo has been disconnected and I have a revv limit of 4100. So I can not give a good description of what the car drives like. I will say the car has lots of torque even without the turbo.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Aug 2005, 06:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
2002pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 14,377
WOW. very nice bob 8)
__________________
Pete.

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Aug 2005, 07:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
mr freeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: notts
Posts: 4,343
Send a message via MSN to mr freeze
sounds great bob , i bet you cant wait to get it running properly on full boost ...... 8) 8)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Aug 2005, 08:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
Sounds good Bob....


What's money
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Aug 2005, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: shropshire
Posts: 3,565
Send a message via MSN to buzz
Nice one Bob :wink:

Buzz
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Aug 2005, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Congrats there Bob, I bet she's a dream, regardless of the turbo or not!!

What's happening with the MAf at 400bhp/torque??? I've had to replace mine, not cheap are they?!

Can't wait to hear about her when the turbo is in

How many miles you have to do before you can have the turbo connected? 1000 or so?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
The MAF can only read a certain amount of air then Maxes out. This is about 350 bhp ish. If you require more bhp you have to do away with the maf which means a differant ECU.

I have to do 500 miles then remove the running in oil. do another 500 and then the remap. Then blow the cobwebs out the thing...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob
The MAF can only read a certain amount of air then Maxes out. This is about 350 bhp ish. If you require more bhp you have to do away with the maf which means a differant ECU.

I have to do 500 miles then remove the running in oil. do another 500 and then the remap. Then blow the cobwebs out the thing...
So basically if I went above the 350bhp mark, the re-map that I'm eventually getting done would be wasted? Or would that be a good thing? What replaces the MAF bob, nothing or something?

Are you aiming for 350 or going for something a little higher?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Will not go into the ins and out of the closed loop or open loop of the ECU on Tec3 as it does start to get complicated.(even for me) The car can be mapped using the maf cencer but the maf will max out at about 350 bhp. The car can also be mapped using the LAMBDA which mesures the burnt fuel. If a ECU uses the LAMBDA only then the MAF is no longer required.
Other factors come in to this but this is should give you a basic idea.

I would like to take the car to 400/400 so the mapping that has been done to my car at the moment is wasted as the ECU will be exchanged and the new ECU will be mapped.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 12:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Well that makes sense, so what your saying is, you have one or the other?? (MAF or Lambda) Not both? So IF I choose to took it past that mark, I'd be better off to get a Lambda fitted (unless one already is?) so that the MAF can be done away with?

I assume the Apexi ECU is the same in some ways...?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 01:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
You would be better chatting to a few good mappers about the ins and outs of differant aftermarket ECU's I do not know much about the APEXI stuff as I have never used it.
Most the lads on the forums use APEXI or TEC3 some have Unichip or PPP But all the high powered race cars use MOTEC JEMS ALTRONICS LINK. So I would say it is safe to say TEC3 and such like are used for the lads that require 250-350 bhp any more BHP and you would be wise to go the more expencive route and go for The MOTEC group.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 03:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Could I replace the MAF sensor now or does it HAVE to be done when the car has more power? I was speaking to Andy Forest about it getting mapped...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 10:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill-type-R
Could I replace the MAF sensor now or does it HAVE to be done when the car has more power? I was speaking to Andy Forest about it getting mapped...
You should replace a knackered MAF as soon as posible.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 11:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I've just replaced the MAF sensor, its cost me 245!!! I was wondering if and when it might fail again, would it be wiser to change it to a Lambda sensor then?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Aug 2005, 11:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Your LAMBDA is fitted in your exhaust.... Your MAF should last a few years. 8) It is the MY99 that give the most problems.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impreza Applied Model/Engine Codes 2002pete Technical General 40 02 Jul 2015 06:22 PM
Bob's Mods bob Subaru Impreza Discussions 10 16 Feb 2006 05:23 PM
Just declared my latest mods :SHOCK: PeterUK300 Subaru Impreza Discussions 12 04 Nov 2005 02:37 PM
Bob's latest latest Spec. bob Subaru Impreza Discussions 10 19 Sep 2005 07:06 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.