Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

Engine Conversion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06 Feb 2012, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Engine Conversion

Hi guys im a newbie here and a newbie to subarus and cars in general so please could you keep things simple for me makes me sound daft but hey ho.

I have just got a subaru impreza GL 2lt 4WD and it has a 2lt turbo engine in it, the guy i got it from has no idea about whats inside it so no help there.

I want to try and find out what engine is actually in the car but cant seem to find the engine number, i know its a EJ20 engine and that it also says on the sides its a 4 cam 16 valve. i have looked for the engine number but had no luck i have been looking for a gd8 engine code as the chassis is a 92 classic so guessing the engine is a 92-00 model not sure if any other year engine would fit. any help on locating the engine number would be great ive looked under the inter-cooler as best i could see and to be honest it has a huge front mount inter-cooler an the pipes are just as big so struggling there, i also read to look by the bell housing but cant see much there either and also by the alternator, ive found loads of numbers but nothing starting GC8. help on that would be great.

next i come to the diagnostics of the car from what ive read the car is pre obd readers so no joy on just plugging it in an checking, the ecu has a stage 1 map and i dont like the idea of the cables under the steering coloum in case i wipe the ecu there are 2 cables coming from the ecu that somebody in the past has left 2 jumpers coming off not connected to anything is there a way of connecting to a laptop to check everyhting.

Any help on these things would be great as i have no idea thanks in advance.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2012, 09:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Scooby

Re: Engine Conversion