Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza General > Subaru Impreza Discussions

Subaru Impreza Forum

help!!!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21 May 2011, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
help!!!

hi all im new to the forum i have a wry sit type ra. i recently installed a new stainless manifold and up pipe on my car as my up pipe was cracked i thought with the hassle of getting it all off and on 8 hrs in total because the previous owner decided to round off two of the down pipe bolts one of them being the one under the turbo

anyway now the car seems to be misfiring, overboosting, over/under fuelling im not sure what im looking for im new to these cars could anyone advise me on what they would do it has a simtek ecu in it so it can be remapped if this is my problem any ideas on how much this will cost?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2011, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: help!!!

yep needs mapping. prb will be getting a mapp, you may hae to get it back to the mainland to get it done
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2011, 10:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Matt-WRX-Import's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: That bit in the middle
Posts: 3,577
Re: help!!!

I could be talking crap but I though the up pipe should be matched to the turbo then mapped ?
__________________
Greed, for lack of a better word, is good. Greed is right. Greed works. Greed clarifies, cuts through, and captures the essence of the evolutionary spirit.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2011, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
Re: help!!!

thanks tidgy i defiantly need to come to the uk as mapping aint available here. good excuse to get away from the wife :-) would you know of anyone between weymouth and bristol that could do it as i i would like to go to this port as my friend lives in bristol so may aswell make a weekend of it i looked at alan jeffrys but its abit of a detour to plymouth

hi matt do you mean there is a specific types of up pipe for specific types turbo or will all fit just a case of finding the right map for the combonation

i was thinking if this is the case about coming to the uk. if i was to put a front mount intercooler on it will this make it worse maybe even undrivable?
that way i have nothing else i would like to do to it performance wise and get to enjoy the car when i get home

do you think it maybe worth trying a new coil pack, leads, plugs, before hand ?

many thanks
craig
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
Re: help!!!

get it to Enginetuner.

Well worth the trip. Even just give them a bell and ask for some advise which may help you reslove the problem yourself or with a little bit of help from other scooby owners.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
jimfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Posts: 102
Send a message via MSN to jimfella
Re: help!!!

JD Arby's impreza is Tiny's old one
__________________
Gotta love the Classic
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 05:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
Re: help!!!

aha

should not be the up-pipe causing running issues.

maybe misfire caused by wrong plugs, overboost caused by boost leak.

the mapping is perfect on that car and only can be changed by the mapper, who is in Plymouth oddly enough or someone with the suitable software and dongle.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 05:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
Re: help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd View Post
aha

should not be the up-pipe causing running issues.

maybe misfire caused by wrong plugs, overboost caused by boost leak.

the mapping is perfect on that car and only can be changed by the mapper, who is in Plymouth oddly enough or someone with the suitable software and dongle.
hi jd nice to meet you it was running fine before i had to take the intercooler off to do the job do u think my problem could lie in a leak there?.
i will try the plugs this week sometime and try that. the only other thing i have changed was the oil the otherday but it was running crap before that doubt this would do it , i phoned alan today he said because of the up pipe and header it should be remapped and like he said it was mapped a few years ago so a lot could of been altered on the car like i said to him i wanna get a fmic on there before i go so i only have to ever make one journey to him

is there any other worth while mods to get on there before i go?

like i say guys im new to cars full stop any info is a bonus i tackled the up pipe on my own what a daymare after achieving what almost felt impossible at one point ibe got really interested in the car and the mods and really wanna get my hands dirty

like james said mate i have tiny's old one but now its time to make it arby's
its hard to know what to do to it because i don't know what it has had done already but i defiantly have to get some bits sprayed and some new rims maybe add some stickers i dunno

do u think the car is a worthy project ?

from what vie read heard the motor was rebuilt recently and the clutch, cv joints, diff's and drive shafts have all been done on it
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
Re: help!!!

the car is a cracker of a motor, Tiny looked after it well.

is the new uppipe the same as the old one? does sound like a boost leak of you have taken off the intercooler, just everything is on and tight. You will need a remap for the front mount.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 05:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
Re: help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd View Post
the car is a cracker of a motor, Tiny looked after it well.

is the new uppipe the same as the old one? does sound like a boost leak of you have taken off the intercooler, just everything is on and tight. You will need a remap for the front mount.
cool i will go have a mess around in a minute with it nah it aint the old one fits inside the new one its defiantly bigger in diameter the header is 4 into 1 unequal length the old cast one was a single pipe bidging across the other side now i have 2 running across the bottom of the car looks good just hope its all gonna work in the end
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 05:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
Re: help!!!

you have replaced the old pipe with a new 4 into 1 stainless?

should have a remap, but should not make it run that bad. I would check for boost leaks.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 06:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
Re: help!!!

[QUOTE=jd;408431]you have replaced the old pipe with a new 4 into 1 stainless?

yep was that a bad or good idea i still have the cast one
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 06:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
Re: help!!!

good idea, they can liberate a few extra ponies, but need a remap to help.

is the old one completely knackered? if you cannot find a boost leak, which sounds like the problem, it may be worth fitting the standard one back on and seeing what happens (with new bolts of course).
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 06:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
Re: help!!!

nah its cracked all the way round you can see its been repaired hundreds of times before it has loads of welds on it so looked like a common problem i thought twice about going through that hassle again so replaced it all i have the header that is ok do u think that maybe worth a go? with the old up pipe on i managed to get .3 bar of boost because it was that knackered when it is running ok im getting 1.2 its weird if u come off and feed the throttle back on it sorts itself out
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2011, 09:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 34
Re: help!!!

when its cold its ok as soon as it starts to warm up thats when the problems start
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.