Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Modifications - Tips and Tricks

Subaru Impreza Forum

First stage of Modifying Engine

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15 Jun 2010, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby

First stage of Modifying Engine

Hi guys. Ive just bought a blob eye, 2001 wrx. Its currently standard engine wise apart from a stainless cat back system and a silicone upgraded boost pipe and a dump valve. I am going to have it remapped in the near future but want to do a few things first before the mapping.

Im a mechanic so am technically ok with doing work myself but as not really modified my previous impreza's engines just want pointers from people who know what things need doing first. i want around over 300bhp eventually and may even go the whole hog with internals and go for 500bhp just depends on funds over the next 12 months so starters i want to do the small things and get a remap untill i decide what power im going for as that will determine what turbo i go for etc

1.I would assume first of all uprated headers full decat exhaust sytem.
2. Uprated fuel pump
3. Front mount cooler (decent one with proven gains)
4. Uprated oil pump ive also been told is a good idea

My list is not exhaustive and any sugestions are welcome any upgrade i do will be based upon making the car cope with 500bhp so i wont upgrade somthing that will need upgrading again if that makes sense.

Is there any sti parts such as inlet or anything that will help as i know mine is just the standard wrx engine
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jun 2010, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud

Re: First stage of Modifying Engine

oil pump isn;t required (been runnign 340 on my classic for 3 years no no issues with oil pump), fuel pump is a good idea, but your limitation is gonna be the turbo no matter what you do.
put a vf35 from a sti on it and you see 330ish with injectors done as well.