Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Modifications - Tips and Tricks

Subaru Impreza Forum

new to the impreza world

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Jun 2010, 06:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

new to the impreza world

hi all as my title says i am new to the impreza world, i have got a 1998 impreza turbo with a 3 inch sports exhaust with a sports cat, my previous car was a fiat coupe 20v turbo, i would like to know if anyone can help me, i want to put a sti ecu on my impreza but dont know which one will work or even if the sti ecu is the best one for the impreza, any help would be appreciated

ive also heared something about putting another chip in the ecu and cutting a resistor so that it uses the second chip a 27c1028, ive got the programmer to program the chip but not got any images, i want around 280bhp to 300bhp

Last edited by johnboywood; 09 Jun 2010 at 06:38 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jun 2010, 06:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby

Re: new to the impreza world

Firstly Welcome and enjoy

secondly,as yours is a 98 you may not need the STi ECU,there's a good possibility of getting it mapped..

if your after an aftermarket ECU like Gems,Simtek, etc,you'll be looking iro 1,000 by the time you've added the toys you want,like anti lagg,switchable maps,launch control...
Old 09 Jun 2010, 07:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby

As Ed says, your ECU may be mappable. An Ecutek map is around 500 I think and a lot cheaper than a replacement ECU, though obviously a more expensive aftermarket ECU will have more functionality. Really depends what you want from the map.