Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Modifications - Tips and Tricks

Subaru Impreza Forum

More Power from Turbo2000
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 Mar 2009, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
More Power from Turbo2000

I am after a few suggestions as to how to get a bit more power from my Turbo2000. It already has a ProDrive ECU Map, Green Filter and Sports Cat D/Pipe. Dyno'd just shy of 260bhp. I wanted a bit more torque and a few more horses.

Is a TD05 turbo a good replacement option and will it bolt staight on? What gains should I expect?

How about keeping TD04 and opting for some sort of boost controller? Any recommendations? and again what gains to expect.

I know I could go for an ECUTek remap but I don't have 650 right now to do this.. :-(

cheers
Angelo.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

260bhp for a prodrive map doesn't sound right, sounds like its been tek 3'd aka custom mapped for the car already, mine ran 258bhp and 280ftlb after being ecutek'd

short version your tubro is balls to the wall so next step is larger turbo. for the 99/00 classics best bet is either a vf35 or a vf34 depending on your budget. thena full map to suit.

theres a classic tuning guide in the mod section
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

My torque is lower down at 247Lb though.

It isn't just a prodrive map as I said it has a Sports Cat down pipe and Green Panel air filter. Oh, and I don't know if it makes a difference but a PD back box. The actual hp is 258bhp.

If I could get 270 - 280 bhp and lb torque I think I'd be happy.


Cheers for your comments anyway Tidgy..
One other thing. When it was dyno'd the guy said that there are some parameters that can be altered (i,e, slight tune) throught the ODBII without the need for ECUTek. Is this true or waffle?

thanks again..
Angelo.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

Prodrive maps were well known for running 240bhp and 240ftlb on more or less every car so it . results from a fuill custom map are different they vary from car to car, mates car ran 267bhp and 250ftlb, yet i know some that dont make 260 on either, some that make more on both

sounds like a bodge it and scarpoer job to me. alot of cars can be flash mapped, aka they can all use the same map, do that with a scoob at your peril, same map can run rich on one car and run lean on another risking the engine.

as far as the 280bhp target its not very likley on the td04, tbh its a weedy turbo and the map tends to take it up to around the 260mark, best bet chuck a turbo, full decat, panel filter, fuel pump custom map and you should be around or above the 300bhp mark. there's no ral point in changing the turbo to make 280, may as well just get a mainstream turbo due to availability and cost (due to being readily available the prices tend to be less)
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

Thanks again for the info mate. I will take this on board..

Angelo..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

nee bother, your only limited by your imagination o and wallet lol

as long as you stay below 350bhp and similar torque you should be ok with your gearbox and engine, although the closer you are to that figure the more at risk of something breaking you are.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidgy View Post
nee bother, your only limited by your imagination o and wallet lol

as long as you stay below 350bhp and similar torque you should be ok with your gearbox and engine, although the closer you are to that figure the more at risk of something breaking you are.
i have a 99 uk turbo an has prodrive written on the arches. hope this means prodrive but can these standard ecus be mapped. if mine is prodrive does it have prodrive ecu and if i decide to put bigger turbo on it can this ecu just be mapped if u have any knowledge on this it wud be great cheers
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 09:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

prodrive on the arches means nowt bud.. almost all scoob ECU's are mapable,and if a larger tubby is fitted remap will need to be done
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2009, 11:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 490
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pilot View Post
prodrive on the arches means nowt bud.. almost all scoob ECU's are mapable,and if a larger tubby is fitted remap will need to be done
ok thanks mate. i just dont understand the prodrive on the arches coz is the proper blue with silver prodrive painted under. i will have to check which ecu it has
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

I think my first job is going to be ditching the TD04.

Can someone please give me the advantages and disadvantages of opting for either a TD05, VF34 or VF35. I believe there are variants of the VF turbos too.

Any advice to help me choose welcome.. Are these straight replacements or are any mods needed. i.e. Turbo oil feeds etc.?

cheers
Angelo.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 01:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

vf series will be a straight swap

td series will either be a converted turbo or need converting

vf35 - 330ish bhp, decent spool, can be found second hand, prob about 300 ish for a decent one

vf34 - 350ish bhp, decent spool, pretty rare so prob have to buy new 500+ ish.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Apr 2009, 07:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

Hi,

Now my job is looking a little more secure "for the sec :-)" I will resurect my plans.. I see there are a number of TD05 turbos' around. Are these on par with either the VF34 or VF35?

thanks as always
Angelo,
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Apr 2009, 03:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

depends on which version fo the td05, normally a different fitment though
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Apr 2009, 08:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

When you look at TD05 Impreza on ebay it comes up with quite a few..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Apr 2009, 12:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Re: More Power from Turbo2000

will prob say 16g, 18g 20g etc etc, its the fitment that varies, side and top/front entry.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mercedes power giving McLaren four tenths' edge. News_Bot Formula News 0 22 Aug 2008 10:36 AM
power sterring pump conversion gammi0025 Technical General 1 25 Oct 2007 04:00 PM
Power connector in trunk - purpose,fuse postlewt Electrical (Including ICE) 5 22 Oct 2007 05:28 PM
NEW-LOOK AND CLASS-LEADING PERFORMANCE FOR 06 FORESTER skylight General Chat - Anything about Anything 2 03 Aug 2005 05:05 PM
Kuwano Direct power system willfal Technical General 3 31 Dec 2004 04:44 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.