Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Interior

Subaru Impreza Forum

Boost pressure
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16 May 2007, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
WAYNE WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powys
Posts: 99
Boost pressure

Hello everyone, when given the car a good airing at 2500rpms my boost is up at 1.2 bar of pressure right up to 4500rpms then it moves to 1.3 ish but when at about 5000rpms it starts to drop back to about 0.9 - 1.0 bar.
My question is, is this normal and is there a fix for this to keep it more constant?
My turbo is a baby td04
Wayne
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2007, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
norm it goes up to max, then drops off towards then end. also 1.2 bar at 2.5k is very veryt low revs indeed, sure its still runnign the standard td04?
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2007, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
WAYNE WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powys
Posts: 99
I'll check in a minute, so theres no fix for this then
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2007, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
sounds strange, might be best to get a dyno run on it and see what its doing.

sounds like its been remapped after the PPP
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2007, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
WAYNE WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powys
Posts: 99
Ok Tidgy I fibbed about it boosting that early, in 3rd its about 3000 rpms but in 5th its about 2700rpms. As for the turbo I would imagine its a TD04 because I have all the history on the car and I've had it two and a half years.
I just wondered if a manual boost controller would hold it better or ajusting the wastegate arm would smooth it out abit, but if its normal and everybodies does it well theres nothing to worry about.
Wayne
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2007, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
you do get a drop in boost for definate as teh revs go up, but 1.2 isn't normal boost for a standard map, hence me sugesting its been remaped, either that or the boost gauge may be reading wrong.

as long as its been mapped for it the extra boost isn't an issue at all, the stock internals will take that no probs (mine peaks at 1.25 so 1.3 isn't a million miles away and mine being a uk classic there known to have chocy pistons lol)

but still think hitting that on a standard mapped wrx is very very strange indeed.

still think it would be owrth the dyno run to see whats going on. where abouts are you based?
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2007, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
v v high boost for a TD04......must have been mapped at sometime in its life.....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2007, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
WAYNE WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powys
Posts: 99
I thought the prodrive pack raise the boost to 1.2bar but I will look at the turbo to find out which one it is, I think all dyno places are hundreds of miles away, I live in Powys in mid Wales
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 11:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
mmm, scoobyclinic at chesterfield is the closest one that springs to mind. unless anyone else can think of any closer
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
VTR Bondy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 717
Mid wales to Chesterfield a fair slog its about 2-3 hours i'd have thought, must be somewhere round Birmingham or somethin.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 03:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
Tidgy only knows Scoobyclinic Centre of his universe and taker of all his monies
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 04:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUK300 View Post
Tidgy only knows Scoobyclinic Centre of his universe and taker of all his monies

lmao, not quiet, honestly not sure where there is in wales, everytime it gets mentioned, even on scoobynet, they send em over to england
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 06:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
WAYNE WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powys
Posts: 99
Next thing then is a dyno then just to make sure everythings cool.
Just one question for you guys,
How come a remap could cost roughly 700 for the first time then drop to roughly 300, is it something to do with licencing.
And in my case how would I know if its had the first one
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 06:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by WAYNE WRX View Post
Next thing then is a dyno then just to make sure everythings cool.
Just one question for you guys,
How come a remap could cost roughly 700 for the first time then drop to roughly 300, is it something to do with licencing.
And in my case how would I know if its had the first one

be nearer 900 by the time you add vat on, but yeah there is a licence fee of around 400 os i've been told, but you only need to pay that once
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2007, 08:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
http://www.powerstation.org.uk/index.asp a fair bit closer me thinks.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo Boost pressure 332tur Technical General 1 27 Mar 2008 11:27 PM
engine pulling problem in 4th and 5th!!!!!! cluer Engine Bay 43 11 May 2007 06:39 PM
Boost Pressure Seany Bot Technical General 4 20 Mar 2007 05:45 PM
how to fit a boost gauge and oil pressure to 94 wrx deejscottee Interior 2 11 Sep 2005 05:05 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:45 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.