Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru-Impreza.org > General Chat - Anything about Anything

Subaru Impreza Forum

I WANT LAUNCH CONTROL
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29 Oct 2004, 07:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 503
I WANT LAUNCH CONTROL

Just read an article, in Automobile (US) mag, about the new BMW M5 (V10 500bhp)
which comes complete with LAUNCH CONTROL , F1 Styleeeeee 8) 8) 8)

I quote:
'To get into LC Mode, you need to select S for sequencial, dial in the fastest of six shift speeds, deactivate stability control, push the shift lever forward and hold it there. Now floor the throttle, wait until the tach needle hovers over 4,000rpm, release the lever and brace yourself for a stunning launch.
The BMW lifts it's nose, squats on it's haunches, and spins the rear tyres in a relatively controlled mix of grip and blue-gray smoke.
Before you can breath out the computer whips into 2nd gear at 8250rpm, then 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th. That's right 7th. This is the first car to have a sequential manual transmission with 7 forward ratios.
About two thirds down the airstrip, the M5 closes down at an indicated168 mph'


I want, I want :!: :!: Can you imagine hanging on with the computer doing everything except steer :shock: :shock:

When will a Scoob have LC :?: :?:

Cool.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Oct 2004, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
Have you tried launching at 5k without any aids? :P :wink: Now thats great
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Oct 2004, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: shropshire
Posts: 3,565
Send a message via MSN to buzz
I quote:
[i]'To get into LC Mode, you need to select S for sequencial, dial in the fastest of six shift speeds, deactivate stability control, push the shift lever forward and hold it there. Now floor the throttle, wait until the tach needle hovers over 4,000rpm, release the lever and brace yourself for a stunning launch.

And in the mean time the other guy has GONE :shock: What a polava! just do one of Gars 5000ers :wink:

How much would that lot cost??????

Like the qoute though Mr cool :wink:


Buzz
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Oct 2004, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
holyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: heckfield hampshire
Posts: 1,662
launch control

i think computers take to much out of driving myself, u will end up just sitting in the seat soon [formula 1 ] keep it man and car not computer and car man as passanger. there has been some scoobys in banzai and japanese performance fitted with it,not sure which company's have done it so u can have it
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Oct 2004, 09:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz
I quote:

And in the mean time the other guy has GONE :shock: What a polava! just do one of Gars 5000ers :wink:

Buzz
Lol, yes but at some of the traffic lights I use on a daily basis you could set your launch control, eat a packed lunch and read a book of short stories before they change to green :roll: :roll: :cry: :shock:

Cool.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Oct 2004, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
LOL @ Cool
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Oct 2004, 10:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
nobby248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cardiff Wales UK.
Posts: 2,744
Send a message via AIM to nobby248
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolangatta
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz
I quote:

And in the mean time the other guy has GONE :shock: What a polava! just do one of Gars 5000ers :wink:

Buzz
Lol, yes but at some of the traffic lights I use on a daily basis you could set your launch control, eat a packed lunch and read a book of short stories before they change to green :roll: :roll: :cry: :shock:

Cool.
Could do with LUNCH control.... Love technology, but takes away from the man and machine skill relationship..... formula one could be so much better if they did away with the computers, and put drivers back in charge..... What do you think Cool :?:
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2004, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 503
Yes, totally agree Nobby.

F1 is a procession of highly advanced computer cars driven by 1 or 2 very good drivers and a lot of ordinary ones.
I'd love to try a car with LC just for the experience.
F1 has one important role though! It provides 'trickle down' technology. Bits of useful kit that eventually find their way onto 'ordinary' cars.
So with that in mind, if a limit on development is placed on F1 teams, things like ABS may not be available to us all.

I'd still rather watch a fly running around my TV screen though :roll: :roll:
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Nov 2004, 08:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South West
Posts: 118
Launch control is a standard feature on Gems engine management.
Costs about 1.7k fitted. You get anti-lag as well :twisted:
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Feb 2008, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
who has it? let us know
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Feb 2008, 09:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Anders52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 228
Send a message via MSN to Anders52
I think the simtec and autronic replacement ecu's can give you this option at an extra cost. Havent a clue as to whats involved though.
__________________
Liver is evil!!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Feb 2008, 08:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
got launch control & anti-lag on my SimTek. £150 optional extra. (main ecu is approx £1000 fitted & mapped at www.enginetuner.co.uk )

great for drag starts.

pull up to lights & stop, in neutral, flick switch, depress clutch, into 2st, floor throttle and lift clutch............................................ ..

currently mine is set to launch at 5250rpm and 0.6 bar of boost, but if the clutch is slipped before the launch, we have seen 1.3 bar at launch.

hold on to your necks, hence the bucket seats and harnesses now fitted, and stickier tyres to be ordered.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Feb 2008, 01:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
lol, mine just needs plumbing in
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU Reset... How many different methods are there??? Richy B Electrical (Including ICE) 95 26 Jan 2011 01:05 PM
ECU Data Fault Codes 2002pete Electrical (Including ICE) 2 25 Apr 2007 07:59 AM
HELP engine check light andyd Technical General 26 09 Dec 2006 01:09 PM
[LEXUS] INTRODUCING THE NEW LEXUS IS skylight World Wide Automotive - News / Discussions 0 18 Nov 2005 08:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.