Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru-Impreza.org > General Chat - Anything about Anything

Subaru Impreza Forum

Hi there, A newbie here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Dec 2008, 04:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

Hi there, A newbie here!

Hi folks, hope your all set for xmas.
Just want to introduce myself. I am currently a biker but considering an impreza to get my kicks, and to be a bit more practical. Have no idea what performance to expect. So could you give me some info as to top speed, 0-60 etc.
Thanks for your time.
Martyn.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Dec 2008, 05:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby

Re: Hi there, A newbie here!

Hi Martyn and welcome to the site.

Where to start with spec. Cars go from around 220 - 320 Bhp in standard form depending on model. 0-60 times and top speeds also vary a lot.

Give us a bit of an idea what you are looking for and be more than happy to make suggestions (in fact, no doubt you'll get so many different suggestions on what is best you'll end up confused anyway) For example, what kind of performance are you looking for and what kind of budget are you working to? Are insurance costs an issue? etc.

I drive a JDM classic shape Version 5 STi RA. It has 280 Bhp standard and does 0-60 in around 4.5 seconds. Top speed is only 118 Mph (unrestricted) owing to Group N close ratio box though. One of the best Imprezas money can buy mind you.
Old 24 Dec 2008, 06:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby

U.K and Japanese(JDM) models can also differ in insurance groups between 17 and 20.