Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Engine Bay

Subaru Impreza Forum

RESETTING THE ECU
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 Nov 2010, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Goulders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
RESETTING THE ECU

Thought I would post this as a thread as I have done numerous searches and got different answers. After some work around the MAF, I thought I had reset the ECU as according to various posts on numerous forums, I could use the old school method of disconnecting the battery on my 2002 WRX Bugeye.

So, to clarify - YOU CANT do it that way. You need to use an OBDII lead and software for 2001 Bugeyes and onwards. This WILL NOT work with earlier models even if you convince yourself it has (its all in your head)

I already had a VAG-COM lead (which can be used and only cost about a tenner on Ebay) and downloaded Romraider 'Learnng View'. Took a screenshot of the knock corrections then reset the ECU by a simple click of a button. The car then run smoothly with no hesitaions. In fact, I could see on the knock correction chart exactly where my issues where. See below. The areas in red were exactly where the hesitations where!!


LearningView_SS_16-11-2010 20 29 11.jpg


The point I am trying to make to assist others is this:- Dont keep throwing money at your car to fix an issue.(errrrmmm, like I did) Do the basic, free checks and maintenance like cleaning th MAF, checking spark plugs, filters, etc and then RESET the ECU using the above method after EVERY time you clean or change a part. You could save a fortune AND keep your sanity(again, unlike me)
__________________
Here, there, every fecking where!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Nov 2010, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
MalcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Taunton
Posts: 779
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Good post...........as far I'm concerned anyway. I'm still learning. The more you "connect" ('scuse the pun) with a car the more you enjoy it
__________________
"...We don't stop playing because we get old, we get old because we stop playing."
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2010, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Is this true for classic shaped imprezas too?
I'd heard that it disconnecting the battery resets the ecu but only on classics.
I actually have my battery disconnected as I write this in an attempt cure a misfire by reseting the ecu, am I wasting my time?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2010, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
2002pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 14,377
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wellsy View Post
Is this true for classic shaped imprezas too?
I'd heard that it disconnecting the battery resets the ecu but only on classics.
I actually have my battery disconnected as I write this in an attempt cure a misfire by reseting the ecu, am I wasting my time?


Link: ECU Reset... How many different methods are there???
__________________
Pete.

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2010, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

thanks for the link, found out how to reset the ecu and it's made a definate improvement.
still getting the check light though...but a lot less.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 07:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

My bro has got VAG-COM, would this work on a 2000 turbo, or would i need different software/different lead?

My car has only got a stainless exhaust / panel filter. would it be worth while resetting the ecu. I do not appear to have any problems at present.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Goulders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannycelluk View Post
My bro has got VAG-COM, would this work on a 2000 turbo, or would i need different software/different lead?

My car has only got a stainless exhaust / panel filter. would it be worth while resetting the ecu. I do not appear to have any problems at present.
As long as it has got a OBDII port it should work. I am using a Vag-com cable from Fleabay that only cost a tenner!!
__________________
Here, there, every fecking where!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

but the vag-com software works? i thought it was only for vauxhall/audi's?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Goulders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Forgot to say, it is well worth resetting the ecu as it smooths out the performance, but IIRC the car initially loses about 20bhp which takes a week or so to build back. (there are reasons for this and also quicker ways, but I nearly burnt my clutch out doing it!!!) It doesnt harm the car in any way.
__________________
Here, there, every fecking where!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 08:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Goulders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannycelluk View Post
but the vag-com software works? i thought it was only for vauxhall/audi's?
vag-com should only work on VW/AUDI/SKODA. Use the cable and Romraiders Learning View for your scooby. I have the free versions of VAG-COM and they dont have the capability to reset ECU's, just CEL and airbag faults. Learning View is for Scoobies and does reset the ECU.
__________________
Here, there, every fecking where!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 09:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

sorry for all the questions

looking at the Romraiders Learning View website the only ECU's listed are for WRX/STI models in the european DM. My car is a T reg UK impreza turbo. Not sti/WRX. Will the software still work?

thanks for answering all my newbie questions
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 09:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Goulders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannycelluk View Post
sorry for all the questions

looking at the Romraiders Learning View website the only ECU's listed are for WRX/STI models in the european DM. My car is a T reg UK impreza turbo. Not sti/WRX. Will the software still work?

thanks for answering all my newbie questions
I cant say 100% but it should work. If you download the software exactly as the instructions and connect it to your car and read the FLKC table it will show you a table with various RPM and loads,etc. If you get that table you can reset the ECU by pressing the button at the top. It will reset all the table back to zero. If you dont get the table, then you know it doesnt work on yours, but remember you are flashing your ECU with another map or anything like that. You are simply erasing the learned behaviour. I was worried the first time I used it, but reset my ecu every few weeks.
__________________
Here, there, every fecking where!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 09:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

ok thanks for your help!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 09:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
robbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: kent
Posts: 461
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

im a noob where do u plug it in ECU? ive got 03 wrx

cheers
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2011, 10:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Goulders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Re: RESETTING THE ECU

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbo View Post
im a noob where do u plug it in ECU? ive got 03 wrx

cheers
Under the steering wheel you will find a hole in the dashboard with a connector in it. Thats the OBDII port that connects to the ECU.
__________________
Here, there, every fecking where!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
resetting the ecu johng5 Technical General 2 23 Jun 2009 09:47 PM
ECU resetting john0863 Electrical (Including ICE) 4 14 Mar 2005 05:11 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.