Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Engine Bay

Subaru Impreza Forum

MOT Failure On High CO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Nov 2009, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

MOT Failure On High CO

Hiya all,

My 55 plate (Hawkeye) 2.5l STI Type Uk just failed its mot on emmissions, the CO averages between 0.9% and 1.1% when max allowed is 0.3%, it has the standard exhaust with cats in place, I have an elmscan 5 compact with the scanxl std software and there are no faults standing at all, could it be that either o2 sensors are starting to fail or possibly 1 of the cats failing? I have checked all over for leaks in intake system and cant find anything, I also tried a petrol additive but that didnt work. Checking diagnostics it seems the sensors are working ok although not sure what correct readings are meant to be. below is the mot test results :-

Fast Idle Test:-

Engine Speed 2458 rpm
CO Level 1.06%
HC Level 47ppm
Lambda 0.99

Second Fast Idle Test:-

Engine Speed 2531 rpm
CO Level 0.99%
HC Level 27ppm
Lambda 0.99

Idle Test :-

Engine Speed 781 rpm
CO Level 0.82%

Thanks for any advice given
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2009, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby

Send a message via MSN to uk dave
Re: MOT Failure On High CO

How many miles has the car done?
Old 19 Nov 2009, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby

It has done 40,235miles , its booked to go into a performance garage for a diagnostics a week on monday if i dont locate problem before then
Old 28 Dec 2009, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Cool Scooby