Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

Camshaft Position sensor
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02 Nov 2010, 03:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Camshaft Position sensor

Hey Guys,

I drive a 2002 'bugeye' sti
I recently got an error code P0365 Camshaft Position Sensor B Bank 1
The car idles normal and runs normal (I'm not going into boost since)

Has anyone ever changed this sensor and can you tell me what the part number is?
Also is it a DIY? or do I need the services of my mechanic, I would prefer to do it myself if it simple.

Exactly where is this located? Does anyone have DIY pics or diagram?

Thanks in advance, all help would be appreciated.

Cheers.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Nov 2010, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
scoobymike79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,730
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

This should help with location - Info: 02+ WRX Sensor Diagrams/Location
__________________
"Straight roads are for fast cars, turns are for fast drivers." -Colin McRae
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Nov 2010, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Thanks bud, anyone with a part number?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Nov 2010, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdevil View Post
Thanks bud, anyone with a part number?
Try here for part no. http://opposedforces.com/parts
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Nov 2010, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
MalcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Taunton
Posts: 779
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Just found this thread appears I might have the same issue. CEL light comes on occasionally when giving it some welly. 4 starts and it goes away. Doesn't always do it. Cam sensor suggested by Martyn at ET. Need to get it scanned to make sure but here is a useful link.

Subaru Camshaft Sensor 22056AA062 Cam Shaft Senor
__________________
"...We don't stop playing because we get old, we get old because we stop playing."
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Nov 2010, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcB View Post
Just found this thread appears I might have the same issue. CEL light comes on occasionally when giving it some welly. 4 starts and it goes away. Doesn't always do it. Cam sensor suggested by Martyn at ET. Need to get it scanned to make sure but here is a useful link.

Subaru Camshaft Sensor 22056AA062 Cam Shaft Senor
I havent sorted it out yet but I think that PN is for the sensor on bank 2 as well as the diagram above.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Nov 2010, 03:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
MalcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Taunton
Posts: 779
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Confirmed Cam Sensor. Ordered at 4pm Tuesday arrived 10am Wednesday
great service and genuine Subaru part Took 10 mins to fit. job done.
(or I hope it is)

Apparently quite common on Newage cars.
__________________
"...We don't stop playing because we get old, we get old because we stop playing."
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Nov 2010, 05:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Sorted it out by the mechanic, the one on the left (angled) is the sensor that went bad (took the pic from another post) Had to remove the stock 'air filter compartment' to get to it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cam sensor.jpg (60.0 KB, 104 views)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Nov 2010, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 146
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

I have been told i need a a camshaft sensor, I assumed there is only one, is there more?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Nov 2010, 10:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Scooby Fanatic
 
MalcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Taunton
Posts: 779
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

I think there is only one. Mine was on the nearside bank. Easy to change.
__________________
"...We don't stop playing because we get old, we get old because we stop playing."
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Nov 2010, 06:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

as above^
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2012, 05:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcB View Post
I think there is only one. Mine was on the nearside bank. Easy to change.
on a bugeye theres 3 camshaft position sensors, 1 on the front nearside, bank 2 on the rear near side and bank 1 on the rear offside.

hope this helps someone as it caused me hell!!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2012, 08:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bury st eds
Posts: 26
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Hi any pics where they are thanks
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2012, 10:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
2002pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 14,377
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottwood View Post
Hi any pics where they are thanks
Info: 97/98 Turbo Sensor/Valve diagrams

Info: 02+ WRX Sensor Diagrams/Location
__________________
Pete.

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2013, 06:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Re: Camshaft Position sensor

Hi

I just found this thread: I have a little problem with my impreza sti Prodrive 2002 Bugeye.

I have this CODe camshaft position sensor b - bank 1 P0365, I bought the sensor from importarparts and replaced the new sensor. But after a week I got the other code: 0340 camshaft position sensor A bank 1, so I cleared the code and drive. days after got the code again so I checked up and got this code: camshaft position sensor b - bank 1 P0365
car works really well. is there anyone who knows what the problem is. I have ordered new sensor A. but feels unnecessary and change.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU Reset... How many different methods are there??? Richy B Electrical (Including ICE) 95 26 Jan 2011 01:05 PM
Throttle position sensor!! cult88 Engine Bay 8 13 Jul 2010 05:12 PM
Welcome Thorpy joins our Forums... The_Team Newbies - Say Hello Here 5 03 Nov 2009 09:12 AM
ECU Data Fault Codes 2002pete Electrical (Including ICE) 2 25 Apr 2007 07:59 AM
HELP engine check light andyd Technical General 26 09 Dec 2006 01:09 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.