Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

Fault Code 33
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Jan 2010, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Republic of Georgia
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to GeorgeGG Send a message via Skype™ to GeorgeGG
Fault Code 33

Got fault Code 33 (Vehicle Speed Sensor) on 1995 JDM Impreza STI.
it does not have Electronic Speedo sensor. and please advice what to do with that Fault. which sensor should i check or change?
on Gearbox there are two sensors one is for Reverse Gear and another - Hell knows.
please help with that. because of that fault code Car does not Boost at all. as soon as i reset code it starts to boost propertly and runs good. but after couple minutes of drive Check engline light still comes On and everything starts again.
please support.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33

Does the speedo work ok ? and does the car have abs ?
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 10:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Republic of Georgia
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to GeorgeGG Send a message via Skype™ to GeorgeGG
Re: Fault Code 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeye_bob View Post
Does the speedo work ok ? and does the car have abs ?
car does not have ABS
and speedo works ok.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 10:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33

The speed sensor is the devise on the gearbox that the speedo uses, but if your speedo is workin ok it shouldnt be that unit,
That the only thing you can swap tbh thats VSS related if you dont have abs.
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33

This is the VSS I have a spare later one but not a mechanical one like you need.
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.

Last edited by bugeye_bob; 24 Sep 2010 at 06:12 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 11:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33

Also might be worth throwing a tomtom type thing in and see if the speedo is right
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Republic of Georgia
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to GeorgeGG Send a message via Skype™ to GeorgeGG
Re: Fault Code 33

my car does not have electronic speedo it is mechanical. and it does work correct as i have Blitz power meter in car and Speed it shows me same speed as car does.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 11:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33


The VSS is B91 in the image, B92 is the Transmission plug, so it looks like its on top of the gearbox under your top mount,
B93 is a Engine working loom connection.
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Jan 2010, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Republic of Georgia
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to GeorgeGG Send a message via Skype™ to GeorgeGG
Re: Fault Code 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeye_bob View Post

The VSS is B91 in the image, B92 is the Transmission plug, so it looks like its on top of the gearbox under your top mount,
B93 is a Engine working loom connection.
can u post up more detailed pics? about which year model are u talking about? i need info for 1995 model 1996+ is different than mine
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jan 2010, 12:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33

taken from this manual

__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.

Last edited by bugeye_bob; 04 Jan 2010 at 12:14 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jan 2010, 09:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Republic of Georgia
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to GeorgeGG Send a message via Skype™ to GeorgeGG
Re: Fault Code 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeye_bob View Post
taken from this manual

can u share that manual? please
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jan 2010, 12:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: Fault Code 33

RapidShare: 1-CLICK Web hosting - Easy Filehosting
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Jan 2010, 12:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Republic of Georgia
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to GeorgeGG Send a message via Skype™ to GeorgeGG
Re: Fault Code 33

thank you.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fault code reading funkymunky Technical General 5 10 Sep 2009 07:32 AM
ECU fault code 45 andrewwhitcombe Engine Bay 3 04 Jul 2009 12:57 AM
fault code help??? gasubaruwrx Electrical (Including ICE) 2 01 Aug 2007 04:44 PM
fault code 43 Accelerator Pedal Switch? help djquest Electrical (Including ICE) 14 08 Feb 2007 04:31 PM
ECU Fault Code andrewwhitcombe Electrical (Including ICE) 2 11 Aug 2005 06:47 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.