Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

ECUTEK Bob Rawle BRD
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15 May 2009, 06:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
nobby248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cardiff Wales UK.
Posts: 2,744
Send a message via AIM to nobby248
ECUTEK Bob Rawle BRD

Hi,
Will be booking my car in for Ecu Tek re-map mid summer

Car will be fully de-cat
Hi flow panel filter
Walbro in tank pump
Heat bandaged headers
Standard TD04 Turbo

The problem I have is.... should I buy the licence with the Remap or save the cost of 240

I do not intend to change my car for many years... Love my classic wagon shape, and only other upgrades will be some more handling based items... brakes, suspension etc

Advice and comments welcome please
__________________
Poor but happy!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2009, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
brumbrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 1,975
Re: ECUTEK Bob Rawle BRD

you have to buy the licence - you are basically buying the software for about 240, and then paying the 0ther 300 to the mapper for donig his magic.
__________________
Interested in everything
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2009, 06:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
brumbrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 1,975
Re: ECUTEK Bob Rawle BRD

in my opinion and experience, if you were going that far with the mods then the car would run fine without any mapping needed. so i would run the car for a while with the decat, filter and fuel pump and then spend a couple of hundred quid on a VF28(you can pick these up reallY cheap, i think they came on the P1??), then fit the turbo just before the remap date and you would then se over 300bhp when given a custom map, rather than just 270bhp as with the TD04.
__________________
Interested in everything

Last edited by brumbrum; 15 May 2009 at 06:52 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2009, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
rikimaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sussex
Posts: 3,335
Re: ECUTEK Bob Rawle BRD

Quote:
Originally Posted by brumbrum View Post
i VF28(you can pick these up reallY cheap, i think they came on the P1??),
Probably did, they are also standard on the V5 STi's so should be a good few kicking about. Loads on the auction sites over here, not that that helps you (though shipping isn't too bad tbh, sent half a dozen new oem RA roof vents to UK last year for a tenner shipping)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2009, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
stiimpreza1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 7,475
Re: ECUTEK Bob Rawle BRD

Have the VF28 turbo on mine to v6 sti speaking of roof vents Wayne my black clip on my roof vent is broken was going to fix it some how but might be cheaper to replace it can you send me a link or somthing? cheers
__________________
SEE NO EVO HEAR NO EVO!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where? Angelo_Pav Electrical (Including ICE) 48 15 May 2009 06:46 PM
Ecutek performance query stirus Technical General 15 17 Feb 2006 09:16 PM
Andy F Ecutek and Apexi Group buy! Money Subaru Impreza Discussions 6 26 Jul 2005 09:50 PM
Power Engineering Ecutek 2 upgrade johnboy Subaru Impreza Discussions 1 20 Apr 2005 02:42 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.