Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 Apr 2009, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Hi there,

So I am going to take the plunge and remap my MY Turbo200. I see a few places do it but is there somewhere recommended to go and preferably not a 'too far' out from London.

There is someone locally but I would like a recommedation as I don't want my car blowing up in a months time.. :-) I know, no guarantees though.. Scoobyworld now do it but I would prefer to go to someone with a long run of experiance.

I expect it to make a good difference.
Is ECUTEK the right way to go? I

many thanks
Angelo
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2009, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Zen performance(northants) would be my first choice-Know its not exactly local but not that bad-there are others just generally they`re further away from you.
__________________
Best sealant used to date- Fourstar ultimate paint protection *Now discontinued* Rebranded as sonus SFX4 paint sealant-Try some ya wont be dissapointed.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2009, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
holyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: heckfield hampshire
Posts: 1,662
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

what mods have been done to the car mate?it makes a difference had my second uk 2000 done after exhaust and induction kit fitted by the ecutek boys themselves,and to be truthful did not put a 600 pound grin on my face.if you are going bigger turbo fmic and so on then i would go down
the apexi or simtek route,not putting the ecutek down they know there
stuff and its just my opinion.give simon at jolly green monster on 07912872581 one of the top mappers in the country and a good egg,
ask him what is the best way to go,tell him what mods you have and what you are going to do to the car he will tell you the best way to go,he does
ecutek and can come to you hope this makes senseand helps
http://www.jollygreenmonster.com/
his web page mate

Last edited by holyfield; 17 Apr 2009 at 02:33 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2009, 05:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Cheers guys, will contact them both and see what they say. Zen isn't too far away from me at just under 70 miles...

Will also speak to Jollygreenmonster..
My target is 280-290 brake with similar expectation for torque whilst maintaining reliability.. Doubt this is possible with TD04 but if I spend too much money the wife will have my nuts.. :-)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2009, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Scooby1Kanobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Herts
Posts: 36
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

How about these guys, based in Uxbridge.

I know they've been around for years, cos a mate of mine used them back in the day, when Cossies were the thing to have.

Been considering a remap myself, and will proobably use them, but will get 'em to do my cam belt first.



Power Engineering - Subaru Tuning for your Impreza, Turbo, WRX, STi, 22B or P1
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2009, 03:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
holyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: heckfield hampshire
Posts: 1,662
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

STAY AWAY from power engineering
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2009, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Scooby1Kanobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Herts
Posts: 36
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by holyfield View Post
STAY AWAY from power engineering

Is there anything you can add to that ??

Why ?

Not heard any bad reports of them personally
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
subaru5468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcestershire UK
Posts: 92
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Iam having a ECUTEK today at power station i will let u no if its worth it
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Cheers mate that'd be great. What mods does your car have?

Best of luck with it. Hope it all goes really well for you..

Angelo..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
subaru5468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcestershire UK
Posts: 92
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Mods TDo5 20g turbo, FMIC ,Walbro fuel pump,
hoping between 300-350 BHP

If car is totaly stock the best a ECUTEK can make 270 BHP so iam told
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Is it a classic scooby you have? UK or Import? Reason asking is I want to upgrade my turbo but TD05 seems to require mods to go on a UK Turbo 2000 MY99.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
subaru5468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcestershire UK
Posts: 92
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

My Subaru is a UK turbo 2000 on 1999 plate V reg i have fitted all mods myself the tdo5 does need very small mod to fit but not big deal
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru5468 View Post
If car is totaly stock the best a ECUTEK can make 270 BHP so iam told
where do some people get their information from,best i've seen from an ecutek tek map is is iro 330,that was just with a filter n free flow back box
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

Same car then.. :-)

So what needs to be done to get TD05 fitted?

Mine is already getting 258 brake with the only engine mods being a high flow cat down pipe and Green panel filter. My target is 285 brake for now.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2009, 09:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Angelo_Pav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
Re: Remapping ECUTEK worth it and where?

I've spoken to a few of the ECUTEK rolling road mappers and they all say stock car will only get around 275... No way will a standard car get 330...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.