Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

Re-Map
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Jul 2006, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
pot1175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sunderland tyne & wear
Posts: 240
Re-Map

A friend of mine has a 02 sti looking for a re-map he's been told about 650 is is about right?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2006, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
Yeah mate should be that as due to the fact its a MY99 onwards car it can be ECUTEK'd

http://www.ecutek.com/

Where abouts is your mate?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2006, 10:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
about right mate, bear in mind he'll also need to change fuel pump.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2006, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
pump will only need to be changeed if producing more the 300bhp....mine runs 300 on 440cc injectors and standard pump at mo.....
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2006, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
true, but runs risk of running lean cos its near limit, for the price its def not worth the risk, plus you'll be able to get more power
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2006, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
also dependant of what fuel is run,no lean on mine at all...sweet as...did hit 330 but backed her down as mods not finished!!......
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2006, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
decat, fuel pump and remap shopuld see approx 330 bhp, as said 300 for none fuel pump but personally as said for the extra cost its def worth having rather than risking
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2006, 06:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
pot1175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sunderland tyne & wear
Posts: 240
Cheers For The Info Chaps I'll Pass It On.:d
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2006, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
uk dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Impreza Preservation Society HQ
Posts: 4,399
Send a message via MSN to uk dave
With "the pilot" on this last yr whilst at rcms asked this question about uprated fuelpump with remap an basically said whilst we recommend it not necessarily reqd if running a fmic though depends on the car however depending on the bhp if your keeping the top mount it becomes a necessity, guessing they just map more fuel in to combat higher induction temps/risk of det with the top mount.
__________________
Best sealant used to date- Fourstar ultimate paint protection *Now discontinued* Rebranded as sonus SFX4 paint sealant-Try some ya wont be dissapointed.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2006, 08:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Damn it!! There's always something extra I should have when I dont think I really need it Doh!!

I've been getting quotes of £900 for a re-map... Ouch!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2006, 10:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill-type-R
Damn it!! There's always something extra I should have when I dont think I really need it Doh!!

I've been getting quotes of 900 for a re-map... Ouch!!
yeah mate wil be about.

most places say around 650, but then add rolling road time and vat and bang you have 900.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 07:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
the rr time should be included within the initial remap cost.

fuel pump is only required above a certain level of power, the mapper who did "pilots" car would have noticed if it was running lean & backed the power down to ensure no lean running.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 08:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd
the rr time should be included within the initial remap cost.

fuel pump is only required above a certain level of power, the mapper who did "pilots" car would have noticed if it was running lean & backed the power down to ensure no lean running.
above 300 on the new age sti's so i've been told.


if the maper is having to back it down because of it then kinda answers if its needed.

as far as not needing for front mount goes, it will be needed more than on a top mount, the increased air pressure associated with front mount (air entres engine cooler) means the air is more dense therefore you need more fuel.
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 08:57 AM   #14 (permalink)
jd
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
jd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via MSN to jd
not arguing, but i know that pilots car will be having more mods in the future, therefore a fuel pump will be fitted at a later date.

But it is not essential to have an uprated fuel pump fitted at remap time, it all depends on how far you want to go.

If happy with 300bhp, then no fuel pump required, obviously taking the advise of the mapper into consideration.
__________________
blah blah blah
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd
not arguing, but i know that pilots car will be having more mods in the future, therefore a fuel pump will be fitted at a later date.

But it is not essential to have an uprated fuel pump fitted at remap time, it all depends on how far you want to go.

If happy with 300bhp, then no fuel pump required, obviously taking the advise of the mapper into consideration.

you shot your self in the foot with that comment mate,,, you said if happy with 300bhp, rafpmsl
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.