Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

vvc settings 'a' and 'b'
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Apr 2012, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

I have a control for vvc in the car and its on setting 'b' whats the diffrence
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2012, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

I will get my crystal ball out and and see
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2012, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

thanks for your reply. so this is not usual?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2012, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

are we to guess what car etc we are talking about, then what is the vvc ? is it a boost controller ?
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2012, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

yeah sorry

95 wrx jap import 260bhp.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2012, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

vvc on a 95....hmmmm...interesting..
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2012, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Young Scooby
 
steve_wrx25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hawkhurst, Kent
Posts: 67
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

variable valve timing im guessing?? I thought that was a honda v-tec thing.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 05:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
ccsworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: birmingham
Posts: 261
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

How do you know its a (VVC) Variable Valve Control.?

Where is the harness going to the ECU or to the engine bay?

How big is the controller?

you mentioned A and B they have similar setting on some of the JAP electronic boost controllers A for high and B for low some of the have even have off where it'll be running at waste gate pressure.

you would need complete AVCS heads with cams and VVC mechanisms, cam belts with the appropriate engine wiring harness your current harness does not have all connectors for the VVC mechanisms and your ECU is not compatible either.


FROM WORKS THE REAL DEAL.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 07:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyboycheck View Post
I have a control for vvc in the car and its on setting 'b' whats the diffrence
might be worth a picture of what your on about
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 12:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

here you go????

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 12:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,370
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

It's a boost controller mate. Don't know where you got the vvc from?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 01:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

o okay, so if i set this to a i will get more boost?

got confused because it says 'actuator valve controller' which i know isnt vvc lol. im new to turbo's etc only owned gti6's before.....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 01:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Veteran Scooby
 
bugeye_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK-Earth - Search google maps for "The Stig"
Posts: 4,563
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

anything over 0.9 bar is a gamble
__________________
-- .. ... ... .. -. --. / -... ..- - / -. --- - / ..-. --- .-. --. --- - - . -.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2012, 03:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,370
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

I wouldn't mess with something you don't know about mate, could cost you and engine.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Apr 2012, 04:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
ccsworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: birmingham
Posts: 261
Re: vvc settings 'a' and 'b'

LOL what a nice looking apexi VVC controller . i forgot to mention in my last post that The VVC table in the EMS controls the avcs. theres no such a thing as a manual VVC.well i have never seen one any way.

am sure if you would have mentioned epexi every one on this thread would have tolled you what it is.


this is Very similer to greddy profec b type APEXI AVC-R. you got the a type You can set gear based boost, have two boost settings, +/- . It's old school but nice one of the best once as a matter affect.

What is your duty cycle set to? (Injector cycle)

What are your settings for boost A and B.?

its still best to know how much boost your running it should be already set in A and B settings does the leds go from green amber to red.

the boost is measured in kg/cm2 if am not wrong. like 1kg/cm2 is 14.7psi so if you got 0.95kg/cm2 example which is 13.51 psi.

The 2 channel setting is for local and long runs like going out of town you don't really want to be using to much boost in forth and fifth when the duty cycle is set on low but you still OK to use that local that why its probably set on B. but then again you don't know high and low could be the other way round.

what ever you do don't start fiddle with any of the setting. just read what it says because its already set to your rpm signal or the abs sensor try finding a manual if your not sure of the functions but its shouldn't be complected



FROM WORKS THE REAL DEAL.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
torque settings woodo Engine Bay 7 21 Jan 2014 09:32 AM
Camber Settings kamranlatif Subaru Impreza Discussions 4 20 Jan 2011 08:54 PM
Torque settings axus Engine Bay 2 11 Oct 2010 07:57 PM
06 sti geometry settings liamgtr Technical General 1 09 Feb 2010 09:21 PM
ECU LOST SETTINGS madmerlin Technical General 4 03 Aug 2009 08:55 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.