Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru Impreza Technical Area > Electrical (Including ICE)

Subaru Impreza Forum

Houston we have a problem
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Sep 2011, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Houston we have a problem

Hi ive made a huge mistake i think. When changing my ecu with both of them i have forgotten to disconnect the battery. Could this have a knock on effect, ie shorted any circuits etc as my car now will not start. I thought might have been something to do with the alarm and immobilizer being wired to the original ecu and when i changed it, the alarm no longer recognised the new alarm nor the old one which i have since tried to put back in. Could i have fried the circuit maybe? Regards Gareth
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,370
Re: Houston we have a problem

Do an ecu reset first
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

Would you recommend doing the disconnect of battery or is there a better way? Appreciate you help :-)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Houston we have a problem

connect under dash n see if anything happens..
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

Sorry im fairly newb, do you mean in the passengers footwell under the plate? Basically the car had the original z4, i have a superchipped z4 off my old car, i thought id change them over, forgot to disconnect the battery when doing so and now the car wont start, the fuel and starter systems are working fine, im testing for spark tomorrow. Only thing i can think is when disconnecting the original ecu the immobilizer was wired to the ecu and now this has stayed on preventing the car starting, i have checked all over the car and cannot see any loose earths or hoses etc. When disconnecting the ecu how long would you recommend i leave it disconnected for? Regards Gareth
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Houston we have a problem

don't funk about with the battery etc....this guide will hopefully solve the problems!!

clicky:-ECU Reset
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..

Last edited by The Pilot; 19 Sep 2011 at 09:08 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 09:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

rito battery will be left alone il unplug the ecu tomorrow and leave it off for a few hours should give it enough time to re-set i would think. any suggestions if car still doesnt start, ive considered getting a new alarm fitted as this system is 9 years old now, i have a brand new one, just could do with not having to fork out 250 for new fitting and removal of the old one with 4 October birthdays coming up :-/
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
The Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay of Tor...
Posts: 6,567
Re: Houston we have a problem

just reset the ECU with the green and black plugs as stated in the link i put up for you..do it that way and then if it won't start we'll try again!!
__________________
Mapped by Enginetuner(Plymouth)..
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 09:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

Thanks for that link very useful. I checked for faults yesterday by plugging the 2 black plugs together but check engine light flashed continuously short flashes for at least a minute so presumed no problems. Thanks again for you help :-)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,370
Re: Houston we have a problem

You can read the codes by counting the flashes to see what's wrong. Someone should be able to share the link or search for it on here
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2011, 09:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

The link the Pilot just gave me has all the codes on it so very useful, but from all the short flashes i got yesterday i dont think there are any faults, however i will double check tomorrow and let you guys know the outcome, i really appreciate your help :-)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2011, 12:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

Hi guys, rite tried plugging green and black plugs, followed indtructions but car not starting. Battery fully charged as it had given up the ghost. Not sure if u cld recommend anything else? Regards Gareth
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2011, 10:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

Good news guys. Changed plugs and car starts no problem now. looked like the old plugs had been in the car for at least 10 years as they were black! All new and fresh now :-) thanks for your help with the ecu stuff.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2011, 02:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,370
Re: Houston we have a problem

good job - wonder is there any other service item due a change. If the plugs where that bad I would prob do a full service including fuel filter, oil filter, air filter, gearbox and diff oil just for peace of mind
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2011, 03:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Cool Scooby
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Re: Houston we have a problem

Changed fuel filter and installed a new hks filter system. Have the oil filter ready for my cooler system. Never changed diff oil before, is the diff oil under the tmic? Regards Gareth
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA: Results - Houston. News_Bot Champ Car News 0 14 May 2006 02:01 PM
Preview: Houston. News_Bot Champ Car News 0 12 May 2006 02:53 AM
FA Preview: Houston. News_Bot Champ Car News 0 11 May 2006 06:26 PM
Looking good in Houston? News_Bot Champ Car News 0 04 Feb 2006 05:25 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:59 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.