Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Non Impreza Related > Computer Internet Related Stuff

Subaru Impreza Forum

wireless internet
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 Jul 2007, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
wireless internet

when i was in switzerland i had trouble with accessing the internet on my laptop even though i could connect to wireless networks.

got a wireless network at home now and still got the same problem

took the laptop into the shop to get them to sort it and they said it connects to their neetworks fine and can use the internet without a problem yet when i got it home it still doesn`t work, any ideas?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 06:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Paid & Proud
 
Tidgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 18,743
signal issue possibly?
__________________
PM, Squirrels best friend, cream egg king and resident .org spam tart/Perv
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2007, 09:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 43
have you a wap key to insert into your compute to connect to your router?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2007, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
a wap key?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Scooby
 
SilverStreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Herts
Posts: 645
Send a message via MSN to SilverStreak Send a message via Yahoo to SilverStreak
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny View Post
when i was in switzerland i had trouble with accessing the internet on my laptop even though i could connect to wireless networks.

got a wireless network at home now and still got the same problem

took the laptop into the shop to get them to sort it and they said it connects to their neetworks fine and can use the internet without a problem yet when i got it home it still doesn`t work, any ideas?
Depending on the area, you might not be able to use a wireless. My mate had the same problem and got told by BT that he couldn't have it, but to try again in 6 months time. And he had just spent 50 on the bits needed and wasn't very happy.

Scotty.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 02:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
its not that mate. In switzerland as i couldn`t use mine i ended up just using my mates laptop and over here there`s loads of people with wireless
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
Have you enabled the wireless setup on the router.
Are you running XP or Vista ??
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
wireless setup on the router?

i`m on xp mate
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
On the laptop try deleting your existing connection and installing a new one with the router on... Should hopefully pick it up ????????

Should be straight forward... Hard to diagnose without looking at it......

Ones I have done have always been easy....

Only other thing is to take the router back to the shop.. may be faulty. See if they can get your laptop to connect to it..

The fact they managed to connect your laptop to their wifi suggests it is a router problem...
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 08:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Fresh Scooby
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny View Post
a wap key?
sorry wep key. its a 64 or 128 bit encryption code that enables your computer to talk to the router and in theory stops other persons "piggy backing" of your connection
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2007, 06:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
can you verify your router is actually working... ? if your laptop is conecting to wireless lans elswhere then your wireless router may be duff.. just a thought.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Aug 2007, 01:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dedicated Scooby
 
tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fraggle rock
Posts: 2,505
Send a message via MSN to tiny
it is connecting to the wireless lan here but not the internet still. Its the same problem i have wherever i go
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet sales boost for Domino's News_Bot Game Land 2 18 Jan 2010 12:20 PM
Wireless networking... Phill-type-R Computer Internet Related Stuff 22 11 Jul 2006 04:21 PM
Stars donate for internet auction. News_Bot MotoGP News 0 05 Jul 2006 10:12 AM
Internet lampposts to be trialled News_Bot Game Land 0 04 Jan 2006 06:44 PM
Internet Telephone skylight Computer Internet Related Stuff 8 22 Sep 2004 11:26 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.