Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Non Impreza Related > Computer Internet Related Stuff

Subaru Impreza Forum

How good is your PC?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21 May 2006, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
How good is your PC?

Well me being me (perhaps not a good thing!! ) always like to play and tweak things as much as possible to get the best from it.
I have introduced this thread (hopefully as a sticky if its used enough, Gareth?) so that people can post their scores and results with their PC's.
Hopefully this can also help those that dont think their machine is running as well as it could or whatever.

Here's a few basic benchmark programs that I use to determin how fast any particular machine is. The programs are free, but if some of you poor people are on 56k dial up, shout and I will send you the programs on a CD for nout Downloading on a 56k modem is sheer hell..

Anyways, here you go :

3D Mark 2001SE Download Warning 40Mb download.

3D Mark 03 Download Warning 178Mb Download.

3D Mark 05 Download Warning 283Mb Download.

3D Mark 06 Download WARNING!! 576Mb DOWNLOAD!!

Aquamark 3 Download

PC Mark 2002 Download 8Mb Download

For additional programs here's a few below:

CPU-Z Download Less than 1Mb to download. Its a CPU recognising piece of software. It's posted in the results shown below.

Directx 9.0C (April 2006) Full Package Download You will need this for the later benchmarks included in the above download. Warning 52Mb Download

Now just as a real rough guide, a 56k modem will download 1Mb in about 4 to 5 minutes (depending on line etc) where as a 512K ADSL line will download a 1Mb in 18 seconds (give or take) and a 8Mb connection will download 1Mb in 1 second (providing the server your downloading from can put it out that fast).

I have included a few screen shots below, just so you can see the way the results can be displayed. Also is a system specification of the PC used for these tests:

AMD XP Mobile @ 2.42Ghz (11.5 x 208)
1Gb PC3200 Ram Cas 2 2-2-5 timings
Galaxy 6800GT 256Mbs AGP graphics card Core 370- Memory 1000 (standard for the card, overclocked for the 6800GT card.)
Maxtor 200Gb IDE Hard Drive
Pioneer DVR111
Nforce 5.1 Driver set used
Nvidia 84.21 Driver set used
Antec Case

Setup and built by me All tests where at standard settings for the programs.

3D Mark 2001SE:


3D Mark 2003:


3D Mark 2005:


3D Mark 2006:


Aquamark 3:


PC Mark 2002:



If anyone wants any help or suggestions for their system, please shout, let me know and I will do my best to help you

I hope this is of some help to someone!! Sorry for the long post Apologises on the picture quality for the screen shots as well, for best quality, please click on the image you wish to display.

Last edited by skylight; 21 May 2006 at 07:05 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Scooby Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 77
What screen resolution settings, etc did you use for the test?
__________________
Impreza STi - The car behind is yours!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I knew I'd forget something!!

Each test was conducted at the standard settings from when the program loaded.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Scooby Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 77
OK, I already have:

3D Mark 2000
3D Mark 2001SE
3D Mark 03
3D Mark 05
3D Mark 06
PC Mark 05 (not 02)

So, I'll download Auqamark 3 and CPU-Z, give them a whirl and post the results later.
__________________
Impreza STi - The car behind is yours!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Ideal The later PC Mark programs dont seem to do that much unless you register them, which costs money!! I have the full versions of 04 but its easier to have 2002 compared to them I think...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Scooby Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 77
Right here goes...

3D Mark 2000 - 24813
3D Mark 2001SE - 22476
3D Mark 2003 - 11686
3D Mark 2005 - 5120
3D Mark 2006 - 2448

PC Mark 2002 - CPU 7739, Memory 9195, HDD 682
PC Mark 2005 - 3341

AquaMark 3 - GFX 9537, CPU 9357, FPS 63.174
__________________
Impreza STi - The car behind is yours!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Good results there Is that standard or overclocked? The AMD 64's show their strenght in the PC Mark memory section
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 02:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Regular Scooby
 
Scooby Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill-type-R
Is that standard or overclocked?
Just standard, tried overclocking but the system kept crashing so have just settled for standard settings now.
__________________
Impreza STi - The car behind is yours!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 03:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
You have to know a little about what to do with overclocking to get it to work properly. The AMD XP Mobile CPU that's in my fiances PC is overclocked by a full 600Mhz and runs faulessly. It helps to have decent cooling, memory and a good motherboard to be successful trying it.

Although with a CPU, they all do give different results. Some got that little further than others, others go through the roof without trying. All luck of the hat I'm afriad to say!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 07:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
its been stuck
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 08:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Downloaded PC Mark 2002

PC Mark 2002 - CPU 7154, Memory 10616, HDD 1242

Got no idea what all this means but hope it helps.

Downloaded Auqamark 3
But after a bit of picture playing I get

Code EXCEPTION ACCESS VIOLATION

Info The thread tried to read of write to a vertual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.

Tried 3dMark05 but also after picture playing the program crashes.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2006, 10:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Quote:
Originally Posted by gareth
its been stuck
Many thanks mate

Bob, sounds like something either in the graphics card drivers isnt right or that you might need to update directx or something mate...

Not seen that problem before tho...

Nice scores tho mate I must one of the slowest PC's here!!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2006, 11:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Reinstalled the ATi Drivers from CD then updated them from microsoft. Found the computer now gives higher res than before if required.
Updated direct x
Still the same problem as before


Info The thread tried to read or write to a vertual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.

So looks like its trying to write the scores or something like that but the computer is refusing access...
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2006, 05:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
I would have considered updating the ATI drivers to newer ones to see if they still give the same problem...

I assume your running on admin and so on? I shall have a little think and see what I can come up with bob...

If you do reload the program, could you get a print screen of the error? If you can, I'll ask around....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2006, 12:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
bob
Senior Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,547
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Truex: It's good to get a good finish at last. News_Bot Nascar News 0 05 Nov 2007 05:51 PM
Good news, V bad news then more good news. VTR Bondy General Chat - Anything about Anything 7 24 Jul 2007 07:43 PM
Tyres: Falken FK452,any good? we-man Technical General 2 20 Jul 2007 11:22 AM
best way to get some good tunes skylight Electrical (Including ICE) 19 20 Jan 2007 05:57 PM
good evening holyfield Spam Bin (Does exactly what it says on the tin) 31 24 Nov 2004 09:56 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.