Go Back   Subaru Impreza Forum - WRX STI Rally Performance Tuning > Subaru-Impreza.org > Announcements

Subaru Impreza Forum

Refreshing pages
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 Dec 2005, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
Refreshing pages

When i post something in a thread then someone replys when re-enter the thread i have to refresh it so i can see the new reply.

this is on all threads when there has been a reply since i looked at it?

Its a bit like the SIDC Forum in that respect.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
Paid & Proud
 
PeterUK300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Herts
Posts: 12,081
Try clearing your cache and temp files to see if that cures it.
__________________
All the best
Pete

http://www.scoobyweb.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
You were right mate
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
its sorted now?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
No Gareth.....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Administrator
 
skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Here and S.Wales
Posts: 13,155
no refresh should be needed - this site is geared for quick / no refresh on the page
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Dec 2006, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,170
Found a repair for this.

Quote:
its the cache, turn it off.
Basically it temporarily saves every page on your hard drive so it doesnt have to be re-loaded every time you re-visit it. Which is gheey in forums!!
I cant exactly remember how to, but i know i can be done in IE, i dont think firefox saves it as much as IE, or at least i think it checks whether the page has changed since last time u visited it or something...


EDIT: in IE, go to internet options, then in general tab, the temporary internet files go to settings, make sure the radio button is NOT set to never, auto is best. I would turn the space right down to 1mb aswell.

Then for good measure aswell, go to the advanced tab and near the bottom tick the box that sais "empty temp internet files when browser is closed", that way you wont have crap filling up your hard drive.
__________________
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Dec 2006, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Obsessed Scooby
 
Phill-type-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bideford or Coven
Posts: 12,994
Send a message via AIM to Phill-type-R Send a message via MSN to Phill-type-R Send a message via Yahoo to Phill-type-R
Nice tip there Dan
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.